Focus on

STOP SMS: What is it?

"STOP SMS" is a spam-fighting device that allows each recipient of SMS messages to have an easy way to oppose and/or unsubscribe from the sending list of the message sender.

In accordance with the GDPR's directives and to protect the consumer, this statement must be displayed for any SMS advertising campaign sent on a mobile phone.

Overview of the STOP SMS...

LEARN MORE

WHAT THE LAW SAYS...
Stop SMS AdvertisingThe case
Advertising text messages

The sending of advertising messages may not be carried out without an explicit prior agreement from the recipient. In addition, the CNIL imposes, in any SMS campaign of a commercial nature, the presence of a means of unsubscribe simple and free (thus not overtaxed), the "STOP SMS".

Informative SMSThe case
Informative text messages

In the case of sending a mobile message in the form of an informative text (example: Confirmation of appointments, follow-up of reservations, purchases or orders, alerts, sending of confirmation code,...), there is no obligation on the Presence of "STOP SMS" in the message.

Legal provisions regarding the SMSThe risks
In case of non-compliance

In the event of a complaint filed by a recipient of an abusive SMS message or a non-compliant promotional marketing campaign, the law provides for a fine of up to €20,000 against the spamming company. In other words: stay within the legal framework for your SMS prospecting!

Message Stop SMS

Recipient side
  • be vigilant when communicating your mobile phone number. You must be given the opportunity to agree (or not) to the commercial use of your personal data by the company collecting this information and possibly by its trading partners.
  • send a message including the word "STOP" in the message to the short number (5-digit number) of the received SMS.
  • If however you notice that the SMS received is abusive and undesirable and that the sender number is not present, you have the possibility to make a report for this SMS spam on the service 33700 provided for this purpose.
    Access the voice and SMS spam platform
Sender side
  • to be in agreement with the legislation of advertising by SMS, you have the obligation to propose to the recipients of any sending of SMS of a commercial nature, the functionality of unsubscribe/unsubscribe simple by mentioning clearly at the end Message "STOP + short number" or a link to a page to unsubscribe (service for countries outside France). Caution If the word "STOP SMS" is not present, certain mobile operator reserves the right not to distribute your mobile advertising message. This feature is offered on our platform: Every request for unsubscribe, managed automatically by our system, excludes the number of the recipient by having made the request of your contact bases and therefore of any subsequent campaign.
  • If you do not comply with this legal obligation, you will be liable to a fine of up to 20 000 € in case of complaint.
  • On the other hand, if the SMS sent is informative, you do not have to add this word "STOP sms".
  • The management of Unsubscribes is done automatically by our system. Thus, when receiving SMS containing a request for unsubscribe, the phone number is automatically deleted from your address book and you will not send him any commercial prospecting by SMS.

LEARN MORE ABOUT MANAGING THE OPT'OUT ON smsmode©

Inserting the Stop SMS statement

IN BRIEF

Stop SMS

  • STOP SMS is mandatory for any commercial SMS
  • The simple approach for the recipient who has the possibility to no longer receive SMS by sending only "STOP" to the short number of the received message.
  • Our platform automatically integrates the recipient's request, automatically deregisters it from the address carent and sends it an SMS confirmation of unsubscribe.

Mobile communication

The smsmode© platform

Our platform and its associated APIs allow you to carry out all your marketing campaigns sending SMS to the unit or in number according to your legal obligations.

FREE TRIALCONTACT US

STOP aux Faux Clics sur Google AdWords !
+33(0)4 91 05 64 63contact@smsmode.com
focus sur

STOP SMS : qu’est-ce que c’est ?

La mention “STOP SMS” est un dispositif de lutte contre le spam permettant à chaque destinataire de messages SMS de bénéficier d’un moyen simple de s’opposer et/ou de se désinscrire de la liste d’envoi de l’émetteur du message.

Conformément aux directives de la CNIL et pour protéger le consommateur, cette mention doit être obligatoirement affichée pour toute campagne SMS publicitaire envoyé sur un téléphone mobile.

Tour d’horizon du STOP SMS…

CE QUE DIT LA LOI…
stop sms publicitaireLe cas
des SMS publicitaires

L’envoi de SMS publicitaires ne peut être effectué sans avoir un accord préalable explicite du destinataire. De plus, la CNIL impose, dans toute campagne de SMS à caractère commercial, la présence d’un moyen de désinscription simple et gratuit (donc non surtaxé), le “STOP SMS”.
sms informatifLe cas
des SMS informatifs

Dans le cas d’envoi de message mobile sous forme de texto à caractère informatif (exemple : confirmation de rendez-vous, suivi des réservations, achats ou commandes, alertes, envoi de code de confirmation,…), il n’y a aucune obligation sur la présence du “STOP SMS” dans le message.
dispositions légales concernant le smsLes risques encourus
en cas de non-conformité

En cas de plainte déposée par un destinataire de SMS abusif ou de campagne marketing promotionnelle non conforme, la loi prévoit une amende pouvant atteindre 20 000 euros à l’encontre de l’entreprise spammeur. Autant dire : rester dans le cadre légal pour votre prospection par SMS !
message stop sms
côté destinataire
  • Soyez vigilant lorsque vous communiquez votre numéro de téléphone portable. Vous devez avoir la possibilité de donner votre accord (ou non) à l’utilisation commerciale de vos données personnelles par la société qui collecte cette information et éventuellement par ses partenaires commerciaux.
  • Envoyer un message incluant le mot “STOP” dans le message au numéro court (numéro à 5 chiffres) du SMS reçu.
  • Si néanmoins vous constatez que le SMS reçu est abusif et indésirable et que le numéro expéditeur n’est pas présent, vous avez la possibilité de faire un signalement pour ce spam SMS sur le service 33700 prévu à cet effet.
    → Accéder à la plateforme de lutte contre les spams vocaux et SMS
côté expéditeur
  • Pour être en accord avec la législation de la publicité par SMS, vous avez l’obligation de proposer aux destinataires de tout envoi de SMS à caractère commercial, la fonctionnalité de désabonnement/désinscription simple en mentionnant clairement en fin de message “STOP + numéro court” ou un lien vers une page pour se désabonner (service pour les pays hors France). Attention si cette mention « STOP SMS » n’est pas présente, certain opérateur mobile se réserve le droit de ne pas distribuer votre message pub mobile. Cette fonctionnalité est proposée sur notre plateforme : chaque demande de désabonnement, gérée automatiquement par notre système, exclu le numéro du destinataire en ayant fait la demande de vos bases de contacts et donc de toute campagne ultérieure.
  • Si vous ne respecter pas cette obligation légale, vous vous exposez à une amende pouvant aller jusqu’à 20 000 € en cas de plainte.
  • En revanche, si le SMS envoyé est à caractère informatif, vous n’êtes pas tenu d’ajouter cette mention “STOP SMS”.
  • La gestion des désabonnements est réalisé automatiquement par notre système. Ainsi, lors de la réception de SMS contenant une demande de désabonnement, le numéro téléphone est supprimé de manière automatique de votre carnet d’adresses et vous ne lui enverrez plus aucune prospection commerciale par SMS.
Insertion de la mention stop SMS
EN RÉSUMÉ

stop sms• le STOP SMS est obligatoire pour tout SMS commercial
• la démarche simple pour le destinataire qui a la possibilité de ne plus recevoir de SMS en envoyant que « STOP » au nuémro court du message reçu.
• notre plateforme intègre automatiquement la demande du destinaire, le désincrit automatiquement du carente d’adresse et lui envoie un SMS de confirmation de désinscription.

communication sur mobile
La plateforme sMsmode

Notre plateforme et ses APIs associées vous permettent d’effectuer toutes vos campagnes marketing d’envoi de SMS à l’unité ou en nombre en respectant vos obligations légales.