SMS campaign for an election: Good or bad idea? read the article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.read the article Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? How to optimize it. leer el artículo Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? Come ottimizzarlo.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

THE BLOG SMSMODE©

Apple to make iPhone compatible with RCS

November 27, 2023

After a campaign of pressure from European regulators and competitors such as Google and Samsung, Apple has finally relented. In 2024, the iPhone will support RCS messaging system the standard created by the GSMA and used by most Android phones. What does this explosive announcement mean for mobile marketing? Will RCS campaigns be feasible on all smartphones? smsmode© tells you all about it.

Apple RCS

Apple's RCS announcement

"In the course of next year (2024, ed. note), we will add support for the RCS universal profile, the standard as currently published by the GSM Association," said Apple spokeswoman Jacqueline Roy.

"We believe the RCS universal profile will offer better interoperability than SMS or MMS. It will work in parallel with iMessage, which will remain the messaging experience... for Apple users."

It was this announcement that had the effect of a bombshell in the mobile world. RCS support for the iPhone will be launched via a software update in early 2024, and will bring a wide range of functions to message exchanges between iPhone and Android users.

The decision comes after lengthy negotiations, and as RCS continues to develop as an increasingly mature platform.

What's in it for users?

The iPhone's adoption of RCS could enable support for encryption, images, high-resolution video, read receipts, keystroke indicators and more. In short, Apple will enable users to share a similar messaging experience between the two systems, with the exception of RCS message bubbles, which will remain green, as SMS messages currently are on iPhone.

What Apple's RCS support means for business messaging

Apple's announcement is more than promising news for the future of rich messaging in marketing. For the moment, only the person-to-person (P2P) experienceis concerned, and Apple has not announced its intentions for the business side of its RCS adoption. But it's highly likely that this adoption will also lead to a major development for the application-to-person (A2P) market: the merger, or at least compatibility, of RBM (RCS Business Messaging: the A2P channel of RCS) with AMB (Apple Messages for Business: the A2P channel of iMessage).

Like SMS and its professional version, the A2P and P2P versions of RCS and iMessage are different technologies. Although RBM and AMB already share features such as support for brand profiles, acknowledgements and other enhanced messaging functions ... these two protocols can't be merged at the snap of a finger.

Separately, RBM and AMB don't yet have the reach of SMS or even other over-the-top (OTT) messaging channels like WhatsApp. Together, however, they have the potential to reach virtually all smartphone users.

Innovation in business messaging tends to follow innovation in consumer messaging. The potential for adoption of rich messaging in the A2P world is therefore enormous. The GSMA estimates that there will be 6.3 billion mobile subscribers by 2030, representing billions of business opportunities for brands. Companies could create compelling experiences with a single click, all without consumers switching apps.

RCS functionalities

RCS messaging features

Find out about the different types of content messages and buttons integrated into the discussion thread, which are offered by the RBM: the RCS at the service of companies.

Discover

Reminder: What is the RCS?

RCS (Rich Communication Services) is a messaging protocol that aims to replace SMS and MMS with a richer, more interactive experience. RCS lets you send and receive text messages, images, videos, files, emojis, stickers, voice messages, video calls, group messages and much more. RCS works over the mobile network or wifi, and offers users features such as acknowledgements, input indicators, or end-to-end encryption.

Reminder: What is RBM?

RBM (RCS Business Messaging) is RCS at the service of brands and companies. It enables companies to communicate with their customers in a more personalized, engaging and effective way.

With RBM, you can create more creative, more interactive and more measurable campaigns. Your RBM campaigns allow you to integrate interactive elements into your RCS messages, such as buttons, carousels, polls, forms and more. In this way, you can facilitate action, stimulate reaction, and foster loyalty.

The other major advantage of RBM is the possibility of adding a chatbot to your sessions. This gives you a powerful "conversational commerce" tool. A more innovative and useful service for your customers, enabling you to offer a new marketing experience with colossal conversion potential.

RBM is a new solution for mobile marketers, and an opportunity for them to personalize their messages according to the profile, behavior and preferences of their recipients. This means they can adapt the content, tone and timing of their messages to increase open rates, click-through rates and conversion rates.

Reasons for Apple's choice

Apple has long resisted the adoption of RCS, preferring to focus on its proprietary iMessage service, which offers a similar messaging experience. However, faced with pressure from competitors, customers and regulators, Apple finally changed its strategy.

There are several reasons for this turnaround. Firstly, RCS has become an increasingly widespread and popular standard in the mobile world, thanks in particular to the support of Google, Samsung and other major players. According to the GSMA, RCS will have more than 600 million monthly active users worldwide by 2022, and should reach one billion by 2024. By not supporting RCS, Apple risked cutting itself off from an important part of the market, and frustrating its customers who wanted to communicate more easily with their Android contacts.

Secondly, RCS represents an opportunity for Apple to comply with the requirements of the European Union, which in 2022 adopted the Digital Markets Act, a law designed to regulate the practices of digital giants and foster competition and innovation. Among the obligations imposed by this law is that of guaranteeing the interoperability of messaging services between different platforms. By adding RCS support to the iPhone, Apple could avoid potential sanctions from the EU.

Finally, Apple's decision to make the iPhone compatible with RCS will bring many benefits to iPhone users, who will now be able to enjoy their rich messaging experience with Android users, and easily switch between the two services without losing their conversations.

Will Apple take the plunge into RBM?

That's the question we're asking ourselves. For the moment, Apple's announcement only concerns the RCS. As for the RBM, we're still waiting for further details from Apple. To be continued...

How to prepare your universal RBM strategy?

Companies need to adapt their marketing strategy to the RCS, taking into account the protocol's specific features and opportunities.

So define your objectives, target, message, budget, timetable, etc. And above all, test and optimize your campaigns using the data and feedback provided by RCS.

 

Talk to an expert

 

For an RCS campaign, the first thing to do is to segment your contact lists according to their compatibility with the protocol. In anticipation of full compatibility, you'll need to know which users have a compatible smartphone and operator. This will enable you to send RCS messages to them, and SMS messages to other users.

RCS enables you to offer a more personalized, richer and more interactive messaging experience. You'll have two powerful levers to activate:

 

Conversion :

By making it possible to offer more attractive, more relevant and more tailored offers to customers, RCS enables companies to increase conversion. Make it easy to take action, by integrating buttons, links, QR codes and more.

 

Measurement:

Thanks to the precise, detailed data on deliverability, opens, clicks and conversions provided by the RCS protocol, you can better measure the effectiveness of your campaigns with RCS. Optimize your strategies, budgets and ROI with this valuable data.

Conclusion: the future of mobile marketing with RCS on iPhone

RCS is a technology that has the potential to transform mobile marketing, offering a richer, more universal and more secure messaging experience. It's also a constantly evolving technology, which could integrate new features in the future, such as augmented reality or mobile payment, which would be yet another step towards a new world for mobile marketing.

l

Our team advises you

Are you interested in our services? Our account managers and our technical team are at your disposal to answer all your questions about our SMS solutions and to give you advice on how to set up a campaign.

Contact us

Campagne SMS pour une élection : Bonne ou mauvaise idée ? lire l'article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.read the article Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? Cómo optimizarlo. leer el artículo Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? Come ottimizzarlo.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

LE BLOG SMSMODE©

Apple va rendre l’iPhone compatible avec le RCS

Le 27 novembre 2023

Après une campagne de pression de la part des autorités européennes de régulation et de concurrents tels que Google et Samsung, Apple a finalement cédé. En 2024, l’iPhone prendra en charge la messagerie RCS, la norme créée par le GSMA et utilisée par la plupart des téléphones Android. Qu’implique cette annonce explosive pour le marketing mobile ? Les campagnes RCS seront-elles réalisables sur tous les smartphones ? smsmode© vous dit tout.

Apple RCS

L’annonce d’Apple sur le RCS

“Dans le courant de l’année prochaine (2024, ndlr), nous ajouterons la prise en charge du profil universel RCS, la norme telle qu’elle est actuellement publiée par l’association GSM”, a déclaré Jacqueline Roy, porte-parole d’Apple.

“Nous pensons que le profil universel RCS offrira une meilleure interopérabilité que les SMS ou les MMS. Cela fonctionnera en parallèle avec iMessage, qui restera l’expérience de messagerie… pour les utilisateurs d’Apple”.

C’est cette annonce qui a eu l’effet d’une bombe dans le monde du mobile. La prise en charge du RCS par l’iPhone sera lancée via une mise à jour logicielle début 2024 et apportera un large éventail de fonctions aux échanges de messages entre les utilisateurs de l’iPhone et ceux d’Android.

La décision intervient après de longues tractations et alors que RCS continue de se développer comme une plateforme de plus en plus mature.

Ce que ça change pour les utilisateurs ?

L’adoption de RCS par l’iPhone pourrait permettre la prise en charge du cryptage, des images, des vidéos en haute résolution, des accusés de lecture, des indicateurs de frappe, etc. En clair, Apple permettra aux utilisateurs de partager une expérience de messagerie similaire entre les deux systèmes, à l’exception des bulles de messages RCS, qui resteront vertes, comme le sont actuellement les SMS sur iPhone.

Ce que la prise en charge de RCS par Apple signifie pour la messagerie professionnelle

L’annonce de la marque à la pomme est une nouvelle plus que prometteuse pour l’avenir de la messagerie enrichie dans le marketing. Pour le moment, seule l’expérience de personne à personne (P2P) n’est concernée et Apple n’a pas annoncé ses intentions sur le volet « business » de son adoption du RCS. Mais il est tout de même fort probable que cette adoption entraine également une évolution majeure pour le marché d’application à personne (A2P) : la fusion, ou à minima la compatibilité du RBM (RCS Business Messaging : canal A2P du RCS) avec le AMB (Apple Messages for Business : canal A2P du iMessage).

Comme le SMS et sa version professionnelle, les versions A2P et P2P du RCS et de iMessage sont des technologies différentes. Même si le RBM et le AMB partagent déjà des fonctionnalités comme la prise en charge des profils de marque, des accusés de réception et d’autres fonctions de messagerie enrichie… ces deux protocoles ne peuvent pas être fusionnés d’un claquement de doigt.

Séparés, le RBM et le AMB n’ont pas encore la portée du SMS ou même d’autres canaux de messagerie over-the-top (OTT) comme WhatsApp. Ensemble, en revanche, ils ont le potentiel pour toucher quasiment tous les utilisateurs de smartphones.

L’innovation en matière de messagerie professionnelle tend à suivre l’innovation en matière de messagerie grand public. Le potentiel d’adoption de la messagerie enrichie dans le monde A2P est donc énorme. La GSMA estime que nous aurons 6,3 milliards d’abonnés mobiles d’ici 2030, ce qui représente des milliards d’opportunités business pour les marques. Les entreprises pourraient ainsi créer des expériences attrayantes en un seul clic, le tout sans que les consommateurs ne changent d’application.

fonctionnalités RCS

Les fonctionnalités de la messagerie RCS

Retrouvez les différents types de messages de contenu et de boutons intégrés dans le fil de discussion, qui sont proposés par le RBM : le RCS au service des entreprises.

Découvrir

Rappel : Qu’est-ce que le RCS ?

Le RCS (Rich Communication Services) est un protocole de messagerie qui vise à remplacer le SMS et le MMS par une expérience plus riche et plus interactive. Le RCS permet d’envoyer et de recevoir des messages texte, des images, des vidéos, des fichiers, des emojis, des stickers, des messages vocaux, des appels vidéo, des messages de groupe, et bien plus encore. Le RCS fonctionne sur le réseau mobile ou le wifi, et offre aux utilisateurs des fonctionnalités comme les accusés de réception, les indicateurs de saisie, ou le chiffrement de bout en bout.

Rappel : Qu’est-ce que le RBM ?

Le RBM (RCS Business Messaging), c’est le RCS au service des marques et entreprises. Il offre aux entreprises la possibilité de communiquer avec leurs clients de manière plus personnalisée, plus engageante et plus efficace.

Avec le RBM, vous pouvez créer des campagnes plus créatives, plus interactives, et plus mesurables. Vos campagnes de RBM vous permettent notamment d’intégrer des éléments interactifs aux messages RCS comme : des boutons, des carrousels, des sondages, des formulaires, etc. Vous pouvez ainsi faciliter l’action, stimuler la réaction, et favoriser la fidélisation.

L’autre avantage majeur du RBM, c’est la possibilité de joindre un chatbot à vos sessions. Avec lui vous vous dotez d’un outil puissant de « commerce conversationnel ». Un service plus innovant et plus utile à vos clients qui vous permet d’offrir une nouvelle expérience marketing avec un potentiel de conversion colossal.

Le RBM, c’est une nouvelle solution pour les marketeurs mobiles et une occasion pour eux de personnaliser leurs messages en fonction du profil, du comportement, et des préférences de leurs destinataires. Ils pourront ainsi adapter le contenu, le ton, et le moment de leurs messages, pour augmenter le taux d’ouverture, le taux de clic, et le taux de conversion.

Les raisons du choix d’Apple

Apple a longtemps résisté à l’adoption du RCS, préférant se concentrer sur son service propriétaire iMessage, qui offre une expérience de messagerie similaire. Cependant, face à la pression de ses concurrents, de certains de ses clients et des régulateurs, Apple a fini par changer de stratégie.

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer ce revirement. Tout d’abord, le RCS est devenu un standard de plus en plus répandu et populaire dans le monde du mobile, notamment grâce au soutien de Google, de Samsung et d’autres acteurs majeurs. Selon la GSMA, le RCS comptait plus de 600 millions d’utilisateurs actifs mensuels dans le monde en 2022, et devrait atteindre le milliard en 2024. En ne supportant pas le RCS, Apple risquait de se couper d’une partie importante du marché et de frustrer ses clients qui souhaitaient communiquer plus facilement avec leurs contacts Android.

Ensuite, le RCS représente une opportunité pour Apple de se conformer aux exigences de l’Union européenne, qui a adopté en 2022 le Digital Markets Act, une loi visant à réguler les pratiques des géants du numérique et à favoriser la concurrence et l’innovation. Parmi les obligations imposées par cette loi, il y a celle de garantir l’interopérabilité des services de messagerie entre les différentes plateformes. En ajoutant le support du RCS à l’iPhone, Apple pourrait ainsi éviter des sanctions potentielles de la part de l’UE.

Enfin, le choix d’Apple de rendre l’iPhone compatible avec le RCS va apporter de nombreux avantages aux utilisateurs iPhone, qui pourront désormais profiter de leur expérience de messagerie riche avec les utilisateurs Android et basculer facilement entre les deux services, sans perdre leurs conversations.

Apple se lancera-t-il dans le RBM ?

C’est la question que nous pouvons nous poser. En effet, l’annonce d’Apple ne concerne, pour l’instant que le RCS. Pour le RBM, nous sommes toujours dans l’expectative et attendons des précisions de la part d’Apple. Affaire à suivre donc…

Comment préparer sa stratégie de RBM universel ?

Les entreprises doivent adapter leur stratégie marketing au RCS, en tenant compte des spécificités et des opportunités de ce protocole.

Définissez donc vos objectifs, cible, message, budget, calendrier, etc. Et surtout, testez et optimisez vos campagnes en utilisant les données et les feedbacks fournis par le RCS.

 

Parler à un expert

 

Pour une campagne RCS, la première chose à faire est de segmenter ses listes de contacts en fonction de leur compatibilité avec le protocole. En prévision d’une compatibilité totale, vous aurez besoin de connaitre les utilisateurs qui disposent d’un smartphone et d’un opérateur compatibles. Vous pourrez ainsi envoyer des messages RCS à ces derniers, et des messages SMS aux autres utilisateurs.

Le RCS permet d’offrir une expérience de messagerie plus personnalisée, plus riche, et plus interactive. Vous aurez donc deux leviers puissants à activer :

 

La conversion :

En donnant la possibilité de proposer des offres plus attractives, plus pertinentes, et plus adaptées aux clients, le RCS permet aux entreprises d’augmenter la conversion. Facilitez le passage à l’action, en intégrant des boutons, des liens, des codes QR, etc.

 

La mesure :

Grâce aux données précises et détaillées sur la délivrabilité, l’ouverture, le clic, la conversion fournies par le protocole RCS, vous pourrez mieux mesurer l’efficacité de vos campagnes avec le RCS. Optimisez vos stratégies, vos budgets, et votre retour sur investissement avec ses précieuses données.

Conclusion : l’avenir du marketing mobile avec le RCS sur iPhone

Le RCS est une technologie qui a le potentiel de transformer le marketing mobile, en offrant une expérience de messagerie plus riche, plus universelle, et plus sécurisée. C’est également une technologie en constante évolution, qui pourrait intégrer de nouvelles fonctionnalités dans le futur, comme la réalité augmentée ou le paiement mobile, qui serait encore un pas de plus vers un nouveau monde pour le marketing mobile.

l

Notre équipe vous conseille

Vous êtes intéressés par nos services ? Nos account managers et notre équipe techniques sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos solutions SMS et pour bénéficier des conseils de mise en place de campagne.

Nous contacter