RCS: the ideal lever to get your customer relations off the ground attend the webinar RCS-enabled iPhone: a turning point for mobile marketing? more information iPhone compatible with RCS: ¿un cambio para el marketing móvil? más información iPhone compatibile con RCS: un cambiamento per il marketing mobile? per saperne di più RCS-fähiges iPhone: Eine Veränderung für das mobile Marketing? mehr erfahren

smsmode© documentation

The smsmode© blog ©

SMS OTP online payment start up banks smsmode

Online payments: OTP SMS still in the race

In the last few days, the net has been flooded with articles and press releases announcing the scheduled end of SMS payment validation. As an active participant in this debate, we felt it was our duty to provide an update. The disappearance of SMS OTP, what is it really?hat's really going on?

 

The facts

"Online payment: the disappearance of SMS set for 2020" hammered Les Echos, while"Online payment: anti-fraud SMS is not yet dead" moderated La Tribune. As for the Marketing Mobile Association France, quoted by Le Journal du Net, it announces that it would be difficult to do without this "popular and universal channel" in such a short space of time. "popular and universal channel".

Widely used by banks and merchants, SMS authentication authentication is however considered as unreliable and not very efficient for complex transactions.

The challenges of the DSP2

The European Payment Services Directive 2nd version officially came into force on 13 January 2019. Transposed by ordinance into French law, it includes several parts introducing new rules . The latter are mainly of interest to consumers, in particular the obligation of strong authentication for online payments of more than 30 euros in order to reduce fraud in e-commerce.

With the aim of increasing the security of our transactions, the text imposes 3 authentication factors . First factor: a code I know, then a device I own and then a personal characteristic of the customer .However, the SMS only brings together two of these factors.

"Cheaper, safer and more innovative payment services". This is the promise of the new directive.

The latter, unlike the other provisions, came into force on 14 September 2019.

OTP SMS should survive DSP2 for a while

Consumers can rest assured that the entry into force of the "strong authentication" obligation has been largely postponed. A large number of European countries, including France, have already announced that they are granting banks, technical service providers and merchants additional time to comply.

Before throwing stones, it should be remembered that the strong authentication method (3D Secure) used today has largely proved its worth in the fight against fraud in these payments. The fraud rate for authenticated transactions is much lower than for non-authenticated transactions: 0.07% compared with 0.21%, according to the figures of the Observatory of Payment Methods (OSMP). In concrete terms, there was 1 euro of fraud for every 578 euros of online payments (an average fraud rate of 0.173%).

 

What we think smsmode

The exclusion of SMS OTP in terms of confirmation of banking transactions and other large-scale operations is not in doubt. The only slowdown envisaged will be, as explained above, the compliance time for the smaller players.

However, this does not mean that its use will become completely obsolete. Indeed, the 2FA message can still be used for account confirmation for example. Protecting sensitive company information or customer accounts is an important task for which the simple combination of login and password is no longer sufficient. In this context, two-factor authentication by SMS OTP is sometimes indispensable.

Why choose smsmode for your SMS OTP/2FA strategy?

By opting for the SMS OTP solution from smsmode, you give your service a channel dedicated solely to this type of sending. This means you can route SMS messages with one-time passwords on a priority channel, monitored 24/7, resistant to failure and with a guaranteed immediate reception rate of over 97% in less than a minute!

OTP SMS addresses many 2FA issues (e-learning portal, authentication to remote portals and systems, etc.).

Our support team is at your disposal to help you integrate the OTP SMS and its settings into your account or to answer your questions.

Le blog smsmode

SMS OTP paiement en ligne start up banques smsmode

Paiements en ligne : le SMS OTP toujours dans la course

Ces derniers jours, on a vu le net assailli d’articles et de communiqués annonçant la fin programmée du SMS de validation des paiements. En tant qu’acteur à part entière de ce débat, il était de notre devoir de faire un point. Disparition du SMS, qu’en est-il réellement ?

 

Les faits

« Paiement en ligne : la disparition du SMS fixée à 2020 » martèle Les Echos.« Paiement en ligne : le SMS anti-fraude n’est pas encore mort », modère La Tribune. Quand à la Marketing Mobile Association France, reprise par le Journal du Net, elle tranche en annonçant qu’il semble difficile dans un délai aussi bref de se passer à jamais de ce « canal populaire et universel ».

Très utilisée par les banques et les commerçants, l’authentification par SMS est toutefois considérée comme peu fiable et peu performante en matière de transactions complexes.

Les enjeux de la DSP2

La directive européenne sur les services de paiement 2ème version est officiellement entrée en vigueur au 13 janvier 2019. Transposée par ordonnance en droit français, elle comprend plusieurs volets instaurant de nouvelles règles. Ces dernières intéressent principalement le consommateur, notamment l’obligation de l’authentification forte pour les paiements en ligne de plus de 30 euros afin de réduire la fraude dans l’e-commerce.

Ayant pour but d’augmenter la sécurité de nos transactions,  le texte impose 3 facteurs d’authentification. Premier facteur : un code que je connais, ensuite, un appareil que je possède puis une caractéristique personnelle du client. Or, le SMS ne rassemble que deux de ces facteurs.

“Des services de paiements moins chers, plus sûrs et plus innovants”. Voici la promesse de la nouvelle directive.

Cette dernière, contrairement aux autres dispositions est entrée en vigueur au 14 du mois de septembre 2019.

Le SMS OTP devrait survivre à la DSP2, pour un temps

Que le consommateur se rassure, l’entrée en vigueur de l’obligation “d’authentification forte” a été largement repoussée. Une grande partie des pays européens dont la France, a d’ores et déjà annoncé accorder un délai supplémentaire aux banques, prestataires techniques et aux commerçants pour s’y conformer.

Avant de lui jeter la pierre, rappelons tout de même que la méthode d’authentification forte (3D Secure), utilisée aujourd’hui, a largement fait ses preuves dans la lutte contre la fraude sur ces paiements. Le taux de fraude des transactions authentifiées est largement inférieur à celui sur les transactions non authentifiées : 0,07% contre 0,21%, selon les chiffres de l’observatoire des moyens de paiement (OSMP). Concrètement, il y a eu 1 euro de fraude pour 578 euros de paiements en ligne (soit un taux de fraude moyen de 0,173%).

 

Ce qu’on en pense chez smsmode

L’exclusion du SMS OTP en terme de confirmation des transactions bancaires et autres opérations d’envergure ne fait à terme aucun doute. Le seul ralentissement envisagé sera, comme expliqué précédemment, le délai de mise en conformité des plus petits acteurs.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que son utilisation va devenir complètement obsolète. En effet, le message 2FA pourra toujours être utilisé en matière de confirmation de compte par exemple.

Pourquoi choisir smsmode dans la mise en place de sa stratégie SMS OTP/2FA ?

En optant pour la solution SMS OTP de smsmode, vous offrez à votre service un canal dédié uniquement à ce type d’envoi. Ainsi, routez les SMS incluant un mot de passe à usage unique sur un canal prioritaire, monitoré 24/7, résistant à la panne et avec un taux de réception immédiat garanti de plus de 97% en moins d’une minute !

Le SMS OTP répond à de nombreuses problématiques 2FA (portail d’e-learning, authentifications à des portails et systèmes distants, etc.).

Notre équipe support est à votre disposition pour vous aider à intégrer le SMS OTP et ses paramètres à votre compte ou pour répondre à vos interrogations.