WHITE PAPERS
& FREE STUDIES

Through our white papers and studies, discover expert advice on how to master SMS sending and optimise the use of SMS in your communication.

PDF AVAILABLE IN FRENCH

STUDY 2020

How do companies use SMS in 2020?

Our SMS A2P 2020 study highlights, identifies and provides an understanding of 2020 trends in usage, sending habits, content and other significant A2P mobile messaging issues.

The SMS A2P (also known as business SMS) remains an essential and unavoidable mobile interaction channel between companies and their customers.
At the dawn of its 30th anniversary, SMS remains an essential mobile communication channel. While the number of P2P SMS (between 2 people) exchanged is declining, A2P SMS continues to grow... and thus to be a powerful medium in the mobile communication landscape.

To establish this study, smsmodeĀ© collected a large data set. More than 83 million SMS messages sent by some 1,299 brands and companies between 15 October 2019 and 14 January 2020 were analysed.

SMS A2P 2020 study

SMS STUDY A2P 2020

MARKETING OR NOTIFICATION?

With nearly 65,000 SMS messages sent per month per advertiser, the use of A2P SMS is a practice that is very much ingrained in the practices of marketing professionals.
Almost as many SMS notifications (48.73%) as SMS advertisements (51.27%) were sent by companies. A more recent use in SMS communication, SMS notification is thus on the way to dethrone advertising SMS and become the main use of A2P SMS.


However, these two uses of SMS deserve to be differentiated as their uses are so far apart. Informative one-to-one communication, the volumes of SMS notifications vary little over the weeks. On the other hand, and unsurprisingly, SMS advertising is strongly influenced by periods of commercial events (sales, Black Friday, pre-Christmas period, etc.) during which advertising pressure is 3 times higher than during a period with no significant commercial activity.

WHEN ARE THE SMS SENT ?

In terms of sending habits, the beginning of the week (Monday and Tuesday) is more conducive to sending SMS notifications. Nevertheless, it can be observed that notification traffic remains fairly steady until Friday and fairly high at the weekend (especially on Sunday, when reminders for Monday's appointments are sent out).

On the other hand, on the advertising side, marketers clearly prefer Thursday to carry out their promotional campaigns by SMS (+52.20% traffic observed on the marketing channel compared to Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or even Friday).

Now on the question of the time of dispatch. The times of the day chosen by companies to carry out their SMS operations - marketing & notification combined - are quite extensive and cover the wide time range from 8am to 8pm: 93.76% of SMS are sent during this period.

There is a slight preference for late morning and early afternoon - 51.91% of SMS messages are sent during this period - with a small peak in the early afternoon (between 1pm and 3pm) and sustained activity in the late morning between 10am and 1pm.

TO WHICH OPERATORS?

distribution of A2P SMS by operator

The breakdown of A2P SMS campaigns by mobile network operator in mainland France is consistent with their respective market shares.

The Top 4 operators are thus composed of : Orange (32.91%), SFR (26.32%), Bouygues Telecom (19.37%) and Free (18.12%).

WHAT CONTENT FOR A2P SMS?

Our analysis shows that the technical constraints and possibilities of SMS - as well as their optimizations - are quite well used by communication professionals.
The personalization of the Sender ID or personalized transmitter is well known and well used by professionals. More than 9 out of 10 SMS messages are sent with this feature.

number of characters in A2P SMS messages

SMS A2P and Sender ID

At the same time, the content of 3 out of 4 SMS messages contains 160 characters or less. In other words, they are optimized messages and take into account the character limit of the SMS. Among the so-called long messages, we will notice that 20% of SMS messages exceed the 160-character limit by a few characters. (up to 40 characters longer) and which could be deemed undesirable.

WHAT PERFORMANCE?

SMS A2P return code

unsubscribe & interaction in SMS A2P

Unsurprisingly, the SMS key performance indicators (delivery, unsubscription and error rates) are performing very well and are consistent with the various studies carried out on the subject. With more than 95% of messages received by recipients, and a very low error rate, the appeal of SMS marketing is partly due to its unparalleled deliverability through other communication channels. This is perhaps the most important indicator and explanation for its longevity.

The interactions measured with the data from our study correspond to the number of SMS messages sent by the final recipients in response to SMS messages sent with a short number. This commitment rate of 9.35% is already honourable knowing that it does not count the clicks on the links that could appear in these messages, nor any other return in physical or virtual store (drive to store).

It should be noted that the new opportunities in terms of SMS (notably Rich SMS and the preview functionality) will make SMS much more visual, interactive and therefore attractive. Undoubtedly, the performance of the SMS channel will therefore evolve in 2020. To be continued...

LIVRES BLANCS & ÉTUDES GRATUITS

Grâce à nos livres blancs et études, découvrez des conseils d’expert pour maîtriser l’envoi de SMS et optimiser l’utilisation du SMS dans votre communication.

ÉTUDE 2020

Comment les entreprises utilisent-elles le SMS en 2020 ?

Notre étude SMS A2P 2020 fait émerger, identifie et permet de comprendre les tendances 2020 relatives à l’utilisation, aux habitudes d’envoi, aux contenus et à d’autres enjeux significatifs de la messagerie mobile A2P.

Le SMS A2P (aussi appelé SMS professionnel) reste un canal d’interaction mobile essentiel et incontournable entre les entreprises et leurs clients.
À l’aube de ses 30 ans, le SMS reste un canal de communication mobile incontournable. Alors que le nombre de SMS P2P (entre 2 personnes) échangés est en perte de vitesse, le SMS A2P continue quant à lui de croître… et donc d’être un support puissant dans le paysage de la communication mobile.

Pour établir cette étude, smsmode© a collecté un vaste ensemble de données. Plus de 83 millions de SMS envoyés par quelques 1299 marques et entreprises du 15 octobre 2019 au 14 janvier 2020, ont été analysées.

étude SMS A2P 2020

ÉTUDE SMS A2P 2020

MARKETING OU NOTIFICATION ?

Avec près de 65 000 SMS envoyés par mois et par annonceur, l’utilisation du SMS A2P est une pratique très ancrée dans les pratiques des professionnels du marketing.
Presque autant de SMS notification (48,73%) que de SMS publicitaires (51,27%) ont été envoyés par les entreprises. Usage plus récent dans la communication SMS, la notification par SMS est donc en passe de détrôner le SMS publicitaire et de devenir l’utilisation principale du SMS A2P.


Cependant, ces deux utilisation du SMS méritent d’être différenciées tant leurs utilisations sont éloignées l’une de l’autre. Communication informative one-to-one, les volumes de notifications par SMS varient peu au fil des semaines. En revanche et sans surprise pourrait-on dire, la publicité par SMS est fortement rythmée par les périodes d’animations commerciales (soldes, Black Friday, période avant Noël, etc.) durant lesquelles on décompte une pression publicitaire 3 fois plus élevée que lors d’une période sans activité commerciale notable.

QUAND SONT RÉALISÉS LES ENVOIS ?

En matière d’habitudes d’envoi, le début de semaine (lundi et mardi) est plus propice à l’envoi de notification par SMS. On observe néanmoins que le trafic notification reste assez soutenu jusqu’au vendredi et assez important le week-end (notamment le dimanche durant lequel les rappels de rendez-vous du lundi sont envoyés).

En revanche, côté publicitaire, les marketeurs privilégient clairement le jeudi pour effectuer leurs campagnes promotionnelles par SMS (+52,20% de trafic observé sur le canal marketing comparativement à ceux des lundi, mardi, mercredi ou même vendredi).

Concernant maintenant la question de l’heure d’envoi. Les moments de la journée choisis par les entreprises pour réaliser leurs opérations SMS — marketing & notification confondues — sont assez étendues et couvrent la large plage horaire de 8h à 20h : 93,76% des SMS sont d’ailleurs envoyés durant cette période.

On remarquera une légère préférence pour la fin de matinée et le début d’après-midi — 51,91% des SMS étant envoyés durant cette période — avec un petit pic en début d’après-midi (entre 13h et 15h) et une activité soutenue en fin de matinée entre 10h et 13h.

VERS QUELS OPÉRATEURS ?

répartition des SMS A2P par opérateur

La répartition par opérateur de réseau mobile en France métropolitaine des campagnes SMS A2P est cohérente avec leurs parts de marché respectives.

Le Top 4 des opérateurs est donc composé de : Orange (32,91%), SFR (26,32%), Bouygues Télécom (19,37%) et Free (18,12%).

QUEL CONTENU POUR LES SMS A2P ?

Notre analyse montre que les contraintes et possibilités techniques du SMS — ainsi que leurs optimisations — sont assez bien utilisées par les professionnels de la communication.
La personnalisation du Sender ID ou émetteur personnalisé est bien connue et bien utilisée par les professionnels. Plus de 9 SMS sur 10 sont d’ailleurs envoyés avec cette fonctionnalité.

nombre de caractères des SMS A2P

SMS A2P et Sender ID

Dans le même temps, le contenu de 3 SMS sur 4 contient 160 caractères ou moins. Autrement dit sont des messages optimisés et prennent en compte la limite de caractères du SMS. Parmi les messages dits longs, on remarquera que 20% des SMS dépassent de quelques caractères cette limite des 160 caractères (jusqu’à 40 caractères de plus) et que l’on pourrait juger comme non souhaité.

QUELLES PERFORMANCES ?

Code retour des SMS A2P

désinscription & interaction en SMS A2P

Sans surprise, les indicateurs-clés de performance du SMS (taux de messages délivrés, de désinscription ou d’erreurs) enregistrent de très bons résultats et sont en cohérence avec les différentes études réalisées sur le sujet. Avec plus de 95% de messages reçus par les destinataires, et un taux d’erreur très faible, l’attrait du marketing par SMS s’explique en partie par une délivrabilité inégalée par d’autres canaux de communication. C’est peut-être là l’indicateur le plus important et l’explication de sa longévité.

Les interactions mesurées avec les datas de notre étude, correspondent aux nombre de SMS envoyés par les destinataires finaux en réponse aux SMS envoyés avec un numéro court. Ce taux d’engagement de 9,35% est déjà honorable sachant qu’il ne comptabilise ni les clics sur les liens qui pourraient apparaître dans ces messages, ni tout autre retour en magasin physique ou virtuel (drive to store).

Il est à noter que les nouvelles opportunités en termes de SMS (notamment le Rich SMS et la fonctionnalité de preview) vont rendre le SMS beaucoup plus visuel, interactif et donc attractif. Sans aucun doute, les performances du canal SMS vont de ce fait évoluer en 2020. À suivre…