smsmode© documentation

The smsmode© blog

smsmode danger sms low cost start up

Low-cost SMS, a prohibited practice that does not comply with the GDPR

The Mobile Marketing Association France already condemned this practice in 2004, followed years later by the General Rules for the Protection of Personal Data. Other decisions followed, gradually laying the groundwork for a ban on the use of low-cost SMS.

These texts give new powers to telecom operators and now allow the Authorities to punish the suppliers and users concerned. One goal, to protect the secrecy of the communications and information entrusted to you.

What is low-cost SMS?

SMS may sometimes seem like a simple product, but there are various variants on the market, with varying degrees of reliability. It is important for us, as a trusted provider, to help our customers make an informed choice between the different offers available to them.

The low-cost SMS has long been praised for its low routing costs. Decried but still used, this ambiguity still makes the good days of some providers.

The low-cost message certainly makes it possible to send messages at unbeatable rates, but it does not fulfil the legal obligations dictated by the RGPD in the context of respect for the protection of personal data.

A service without guarantees, unprotected data

The low-cost SMS certainly makes it possible to send messages at a very reduced rate but it does not fulfil the legal obligations within the framework of the sending of a commercial message or even today, the conditions imposed by the General Regulation of Personal Data Protection. Characteristics of which you should be aware.

The actions taken by operators to block this "illegal" traffic and the first legal sanctions against users of these products render the service without any guarantee of sustainability or performance .

SMS marketing, which originally used these routes, has almost totally abandoned them. Too often victims of blocking by operators, threatening the performance of campaigns . Moreover, as SMS is managed in the most illegal way, it is difficult to protect something that is illegal . This data is not deleted or encrypted. It is sensitive, however, which is why the law is being tightened so that user data is only entrusted to reliable operators, capable of protecting the content of a company towards its customers.

TO GO FURTHER...
Presentation of the different smsmode© products
TO DOWNLOAD

What does the law say?

The GDPR came into force on 25 May 2018. This text, which protects personal data, reinforces the responsibility of companies processing sensitive data. A decision of July 2018 confirms this position.

You probably already suspected this before reaching this last paragraph. The low-cost SMS is not compatible with the General Regulation on the Protection of Personal Data collected from the CNIL (Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertés) . As a reminder, the GDPR gives the supervisory authorities the power toimpose substantial fines on offenders (up to 20 million euros or 4% of your annual turnover).

Using an illegal product cannot allow you to declare yourself compliant with the principles of the GDPR .

The smsmode platform only provides live operator connections without ever compromising on quality . All personal data entrusted to us is stored, encrypted in France and deleted from our servers as quickly as possible. We have the pleasure of supporting numerous companies in the health and banking sectors. These references prove our seriousness in the management of "sensitive" data.

contact sMsmode, communication platform

Our team advises you...

Are you interested in our services? Our sales and technical teams are at your disposal to answer all your questions about our SMS solutions and to benefit from SMS campaign implementation tips.

CONTACT US

Le blog smsmode

smsmode danger sms low cost start up

Le SMS low-cost, une pratique interdite et non conforme au RGPD

La Mobile Marketing Association France condamnait déjà cette pratique en 2004, suivie des années plus tard par le Règlement Général de Protection des Données Personnelles. D’autres décisions leur emboîtèrent le pas, posant petit à petit les bases d’une interdiction de l’utilisation du SMS à bas coût.

Ces textes donnent de nouveaux pouvoirs aux opérateurs télécom et permettent dorénavant au Autorités de punir les fournisseurs et utilisateurs concernés. Un but, protéger le secret des communications et informations qui vous sont confiées.

Qu’est-ce que le SMS low-cost ?

Le SMS peut parfois paraître n’être qu’un produit simple, néanmoins, il en existe diverses variantes sur le marché, plus ou moins fiables. Il est important pour nous, en tant que fournisseur de confiance, d’aider nos clients à faire un choix éclairé entre les différentes offres qui leur sont proposées.

Le SMS low-cost a longtemps été plébiscité pour ses faibles coûts de routage. Décrié mais toujours utilisé, cette ambiguïté fait encore aujourd’hui les beaux jours de certains fournisseurs.

Le message low-cost permet certes d’envoyer des messages à des tarifs battant toute concurrence mais ne remplit pas les obligations légales dictées par le RGPD dans le cadre du respect de la protection des données personnelles.

Un service sans garanties, des données non protégées

Le SMS low-cost permet certes d’envoyer des messages à tarif très réduit mais ne remplit pas les obligations légales dans le cadre de l’envoi d’un message commercial ou encore aujourd’hui, les conditions imposées par le Règlement Général de Protection des Données Personnelles. Des caractéristiques dont vous devez être alertés.

Les actions prises par les opérateurs pour bloquer ce trafic « hors la loi » et les premières sanctions légales contre les utilisateurs de ces produits rend le service sans aucune garantie de pérennité ni de performance.

Le SMS marketing, qui originellement utilisait ces routes, les a presque totalement abandonnées. Trop souvent victimes de blocages de la part des opérateurs, menaçant ainsi les performances des campagnes. De plus, le SMS étant géré dans l’illégalité la plus totale, il est difficile de protéger quelque chose d’illégal. Ces données ne sont pas supprimées ni chiffrées. Elles sont pourtant sensibles, c’est bien pour cela que la loi se durcit pour qu’enfin les données des utilisateurs ne soient confiées qu’à des opérateurs fiables, capables de protéger le contenu d’une société vers ses clients.

Qu’en dit la loi ?

Le RGPD est entré en vigueur au 25 mai 2018. Ce texte, protecteur des données personnelles, renforce la responsabilité des sociétés traitant les données sensibles. Une décision de juillet 2018 confirme cette position.

Vous vous en doutiez certainement déjà avant d’arriver à cet ultime paragraphe. Le SMS low-cost n’est pas compatible avec le Règlement Général de Protection des Données Personnelles collectées vis-à-vis de la CNIL (Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des Libertés). Pour rappel, le RGPD donne aux Autorités de contrôle le pouvoir d’imposer des amendes conséquentes à ses contrevenants (jusqu’à 20 millions d’euros ou 4% de votre CA annuel).

L’utilisation d’un produit illégal ne peut pas vous permettre de vous déclarer conforme aux principes du RGPD.

La plateforme smsmode ne fournit que des connexions en direct opérateurs sans jamais faire aucun compromis sur la qualité. Toutes les données personnelles confiées sont stockées, chiffrées en France puis supprimées de nos serveurs le plus rapidement possible. Nous avons le plaisir d’accompagner de nombreuses sociétés dans le secteur de la santé et des banques. Ces références prouvent notre sérieux dans la gestion du data dit « sensible ».

contact sMsmode, plateforme de communication

Notre équipe vous conseille…

Vous êtes intéressés par nos services ? Nos équipes commerciales et techniques sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos solutions SMS et pour bénéficier des conseils de mise en place de campagne SMS.

CONTACTEZ-NOUS