SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it. read the article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.more information Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? How to optimize it. más información Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? How to optimize it.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

THE BLOG SMSMODE©

SMS, the most environmentally friendly communication tool

June 2, 2023

Looking for pollution-free communication? It's not just the content of a message that shows your commitment to the environment - the channel can make all the difference too! Find out why SMS is the communication channel with the lowestCO2 emissions, and how it fares against e-mails and paper leaflets.

SMS, the most eco-friendly communication tool

Eco-communication: a challenge for all

The question of our impact on the planet is becoming increasingly important. And while it's easy to imagine the pollution generated by our travels or our waste, it's immediately less obvious to quantify the greenhouse gases emitted by our digital habits. Yet the digital sector is responsible for 4% of globalCO2 emissions, and could see its share double by 2025. By way of comparison, this is twice the emissions generated by aviation (which is 2%). In view of these figures, every one of our actions can be questioned, and the energy consumption of digital marketing is no exception.

As a result, when planning a marketing campaign, questions arise: "Does my campaign pollute?

"What are the energy costs of the SMS, email and WhatsApp messages I send?"

"Which media should be used to reduce the carbon footprint of marketing?

Many people have looked into these questions, and the results are unanimous: of all the means of communication, SMS produces the leastCO2!

Why do our digital communications emitCO2?

Digital pollution comes mainly from the use of the Internet's data flow. The exchange of data stored on servers in data centers, which are then consulted by smartphones, PCs or tablets. At every stage of this process, energy is consumed,CO2 is emitted and the carbon footprint is increased.

With SMS, there are fewer intermediaries and less data. We use the frequencies and network of conventional telephony, so the route is more direct between sender and recipient. Consumption is therefore reduced almost entirely to the energy needed to power the devices. Another ecological advantage is that the SMS is received on a cell phone rather than a computer, which reduces the energy required to power the device and the energy cost of the operation.

.

SMS, email, instant messaging, calls, videos, flyers... the comparison ofCO2 emissions by communication medium

We owe most of these calculations to Mike Berners-Lee, researcher at Lancaster University and author of the book "How bad are bananas? The carbon footprint of everything" (also the brother of one of the inventors of the Web, Tim Berners-Lee).

 

co2 emissions marketing channels

 

According to the data he collected, e-mails are the most polluting type of message.

The carbon emissions of an e-mail vary according to its content: from 0.3 g ofCO2 for a spam message to 4 g for a standard e-mail, and up to 50 g ofCO2 for an e-mail containing a photo or a large attachment. What's more, these figures were calculated by Berners-Lee ten years ago. Charlotte Freitag, one of the experts at the company founded by Berners-Lee (Small World Consulting), believes that the impact of e-mailing has certainly increased since then, as the content of e-mails has evolved. The number of e-mails has also exploded: every day, 347.3 billion are sent worldwide and... 80% of them are never opened.

A tweet is estimated to have a 0.2gCO2 footprint (Twitter has never confirmed or denied this figure), while sending a message via a messaging app such as WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger is estimated to be only slightly less polluting than sending an email. Again, this depends on the content being sent: gifs, emojis and images have a larger footprint than plain text.

Sending an SMS is by far the most eco-friendly alternative, as each text message generates just 0.014 g ofCO2. Others, like Frédéric Bordage of GreenIt.fr, even estimate that an SMS emits 0.00215 g ofCO2 (calculation based on data supplied by Vodafone). Even extending the calculation of the SMS carbon footprint to Scope 3 (which designates the broadest perimeter within which greenhouse gas emissions are studied. Emissions from the company providing the sending service, its employees' working lives, the manufacture of telephones, etc.), SMS remains the marketing channel with the smallest footprint (0.19g ofCO2 emissions).

The carbon footprint of a one-minute phone call on a mobile phone is slightly higher than that of sending a text message, but the carbon footprint of internet video calls is astronomical. A 2012 study by the University of New South Wales (Sydney) estimated that a 5-hour video conference meeting between participants from different countries produced between 4 kg and 215 kg ofCO2.

And what about printed advertising?

Mike Berners-Lee estimates that an advertisement sent by post is responsible for sixty times moreCO2 emissions than an e-mail, or 240g per recipient. However, while this calculation certainly makes sense on a per unit basis, a number of parameters are not taken into account, such as whether the paper can be recycled (which is the case for paper used in direct mail in over 60% of cases).

On the other hand, the trees saved by recycling paper compensate for part of the emissions by absorbing carbon dioxide.

Some other figures

2 searches on Google release 14 grams ofCO2 into the atmosphere, which is as much as heating a cup of tea (calculation by physicist Alex Wissner-Gross (Harvard) which does not take into account the environmental degradation and energy spent to create and recycle Google's servers).

65 emails emit as much as one kilometre by car.

The carbon footprint of spam in a year is equivalent to 3 million cars burning 7.5 billion litres of fuel (McAfee report "The Carbon Footprint of Spam").

17 million tons ofCO2 are emitted each year for sending and filtering spam (80% of the emails in circulation).

sms marketing figures

Making SMS an "eco-responsible" asset for your company

The impact of your communication actions can be the subject of awareness. Fortunately, it is possible to opt for eco-responsible solutions that will benefit your company on many levels. If you want to initiate a greener communication, here are the 7 good reasons to use SMS!

An SMS channel strongly recommended by ADEME.

Indeed, the agency for ecological transition recommends SMS to overcome the "all paper" logic and to distribute its promotional offers in a more ecological way.

A virtuous "quick win" action.

Start at the beginning and with concrete actions that can be launched quickly. Since SMS campaigns are as easy or even easier to set up than most other communication channels, it is within everyone's reach and a good reason to take the plunge.

A (first) step in eco-communication with considerable effects.

By choosing to send SMS, your commitment to the planet is real and immediate. Choosing to switch from an email campaign to an SMS campaign means reducing your carbon emissions by nearly 5 tons for every 100,000 messages sent... the equivalent of 26,000 km by car!

No compromise on efficiency and performance.

SMS has a 95% open rate within 3 minutes of receipt, is a very personal way to reach your customers and is a perfect tool for relaying your communications.

An improvement in its brand image thanks to its eco-responsible approach

Faced with increasingly demanding customers and prospects in terms of commitments to sustainable development, the promotion of the ecological approaches you have adopted will enable you to be more in tune with current global issues and to differentiate yourself from your competitors.

An environmentally friendly medium that does not necessarily cost much more.

It is true that an email campaign costs less to send. But if you compare the cost per message opened and per person reached, the gap narrows considerably. In fact, with only 20% of the messages sent being opened (compared to 95% for SMS), the cost of an emailing is almost five times higher!

Communication at the heart of the CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) approach

Eco-design and the choice of communication media based on limiting the impact on the environment are part of the 3 pillars of the CSR approach for marketing and communication professions defined by ADEME.

Decarbonize your shipments with smsmode©

Thanks to smsmode© and its partner ecotreemake your marketing carbon footprint a positive one!

For each subscription, smsmode© plant between 1 and 50 trees in the Forêt de Berné! (A tree absorbs between 10 and 40 kg of CO2 per year)

Enough to compensate for much more than your SMS consumption 😉.

Conclusion

We are convinced that responsible communication is the communication of tomorrow. It is a fundamental trend, a key issue for the years to come. With its 160 characters, SMS remains the surest way to reduce your company's digital carbon footprint, to show your ecological commitment and... to make communication rhyme with ecology!

l

Our team advises you

Are you interested in our services? Our account managers and our technical team are at your disposal to answer all your questions about our SMS solutions and to give you advice on how to set up a campaign.

Contact us

Campagne SMS pour une élection : Bonne ou mauvaise idée ? lire l'article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.read the article Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? Cómo optimizarlo. leer el artículo Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? Come ottimizzarlo.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

LE BLOG SMSMODE©

Le SMS, l’outil de communication le plus écoresponsable

Le 2 juin 2023

Envie d’une communication sans pollution ? Il n’y a pas qu’avec le contenu d’un message que l’on peut montrer son engagement écologique, le canal aussi peut faire la différence ! Découvrez pourquoi le SMS est le canal de communication émettant le moins de CO2 et à quel point ce dernier tire son épingle du jeu face aux mails ou encore aux prospectus papier.

SMS, l’outil de communication le plus écoresponsable

Éco-communication : un enjeu pour tous

La question de notre impact sur la planète devient de plus en plus importante. Et s’il est facile de se représenter la pollution engendrée par nos déplacements ou bien nos déchets, il est tout de suite moins évident de quantifier le gaz à effet de serre émis par nos habitudes digitales. Pourtant le numérique est à l’origine de 4% des émissions mondiales de CO2 et pourrait voir sa part doubler d’ici 2025. À titre de comparaison, cela représente le double des émissions générées par l’aviation (qui est de 2%). Au regard de ces chiffres, chacune de nos actions peut être questionnée, et la consommation énergétique du marketing digital ne fait pas exception.

Du coup, au moment de prévoir une campagne marketing, des questions se posent : « Est-ce que ma campagne est polluante ? »

« Quels sont les coûts énergétiques des SMS, mails, WhatsApp que j’envoie ? »

« Quel média privilégier pour réduire le bilan carbone du marketing ? »

De nombreuses personnes se sont penchées sur ces questions, et les résultats sont unanimes : parmi tous les moyens de communication, c’est le SMS qui produit le moins de CO2 !

Pourquoi nos communications numériques émettent du CO2 ?

La pollution numérique vient principalement de l’usage du flux de données du réseau internet. Les échanges de données stockées sur des serveurs, dans des data-centers, qui sont ensuite consultées par les smartphones, PC ou tablettes. À chaque étape de ce processus, il y a consommation d’énergie, émission de CO2 et donc un bilan carbone alourdi.

Avec le SMS, il y a moins d’intermédiaires et moins de données. On utilise les fréquences et le réseau de la téléphonie classique, si bien que la route est plus directe entre l’expéditeur et le destinataire. La consommation se réduit donc presque à l’énergie nécessaire pour alimenter les appareils. Autre avantage écologique, la réception du SMS sur un téléphone mobile plutôt que sur ordinateur, qui joue sur l’énergie demandée pour alimenter l’appareil et sur le coût énergétique de l’opération.

.

SMS, mail, messagerie instantanée, appel, visio, flyers… le comparatif des émissions de CO2 par support de communication

Nous devons la plupart de ces calculs à Mike Berners-Lee, chercheur à l’université de Lancaster et auteur de l’ouvrage “How bad are bananas? The carbon footprint of everything” (également frère d’un des inventeurs du Web, Tim Berners-Lee).

 

emission de co2 canaux marketing

 

Selon les données qu’il a récoltées, les mails sont le type de message le plus polluant.

Les émissions de carbone d’un mail varient en fonction de son contenu : de 0,3 g de CO2 pour un spam à 4 g pour un mail classique et jusqu’à 50 g de CO2 pour un courriel contenant une photo ou une pièce jointe volumineuse. De plus, ces chiffres ont été calculés par Berners-Lee il y a dix ans. Charlotte Freitag, une des expertes de la société fondée par Berners-Lee (Small World Consulting), estime que l’impact de l’envoi d’e-mails a surement augmenté depuis, car le contenu des e-mails a bien évolué. Le nombre de mails a lui aussi explosé : chaque jour, 347,3 milliards sont envoyés dans le monde et… 80 % d’entre eux ne sont jamais ouverts.

On estime qu’un tweet a une empreinte de 0,2 g de CO2 (Twitter n’a jamais confirmé ni infirmé ce chiffre), tandis que l’envoi d’un message via une application de messagerie telle que WhatsApp ou Facebook Messenger est estimé comme étant à peine moins polluant que l’envoi d’un e-mail. Là encore, cela dépend du contenu qui est envoyé : gifs, emojis et images ont une empreinte plus importante que le texte brut.

L’envoi d’un SMS est de très loin l’alternative la plus écologique, car chaque texto ne génère que 0,014 g de CO2. D’autres, comme Frédéric Bordage de GreenIt.fr, estiment même qu’un SMS émet 0,00215 g de CO2 (calcul basé sur des données fournies par Vodafone). Même en étendant le calcul du bilan carbone du SMS au Scope 3 (qui désignent le périmètre le plus large au sein duquel sont étudiées les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Émissions de la société qui fournit le service d’envoi, de la vie professionnelle de ses employés, fabrication des téléphones…) le SMS reste le canal marketing avec l’empreinte la plus faible (0,19g d’émission de CO2 ).

L’empreinte carbone d’un appel téléphonique d’une minute sur un téléphone portable est un peu plus élevée que celle de l’envoi d’un SMS, mais celle des appels en visio sur internet est quant à elle astronomique. Une étude de 2012 de l’University of New South Wales (Sydney) a estimé qu’une réunion de 5h tenue par vidéoconférence entre des participants de différents pays produisait entre 4 kg et 215 kg de CO2.

Et qu’en est-il des imprimés publicitaires ?

Mike Berners-Lee estime qu’une publicité envoyée par voie postale est responsable de soixante fois plus d’émission de CO2 qu’un mail, soit 240g par destinataire. Cependant, si ce calcul a surement un sens à l’unité, un bon nombre de paramètres ne sont pas pris en compte, comme le fait que le papier puisse être recyclé (ce qui est le cas du papier utilisé dans le publipostage dans plus de 60% des cas).

D’autre part, les arbres épargnés grâce au recyclage de papier compensent une partie des émissions en absorbant le gaz carbonique.

Quelques autres chiffres

2 recherches sur Google rejettent 14 grammes de CO2 dans l’atmosphère, soit autant que pour faire chauffer une tasse de thé (calcul du physicien Alex Wissner-Gross (Harvard) qui ne prend pas en compte la dégradation environnementale et l’énergie dépensée pour la création et le recyclage des serveurs de Google).

65 mails émettent autant qu’un kilomètre en voiture.

L’empreinte carbone des spams sur une année équivaut à celle 3 millions de voitures brulant 7,5 milliards de litres d’essence (rapport McAfee “L’empreinte carbone des spams”).

17 millions de tonnes de CO2 sont rejetées chaque année pour l’envoi et le filtrage des spams (80% des mails qui circulent).

chiffres sms marketing

Faire du SMS un atout “éco-responsable” pour votre entreprise

L’impact de ses actions de communication peut être le sujet d’une prise de conscience. Heureusement, il est possible d’opter pour des solutions écoresponsables qui seront bénéfiques pour votre entreprise sur de nombreux plans. Vous voulez initier une communication plus verte, voici les 7 bonnes raisons de privilégier le SMS !

Un canal SMS fortement recommandé par l’ADEME.

En effet l’agence de la transition écologique préconise le SMS pour pallier la logique “tout-papier” et diffuser ses offres promotionnelles de manière plus écologique.

Une action vertueuse “quick win”.

Commencez par le commencement et par des actions concrètes rapides à lancer. Les campagnes SMS étant aussi simples, voire même plus simples à mettre en place que la plupart des autres canaux de communication : c’est à la portée de tou.te.s et c’est une bonne raison de sauter le pas.

Un (premier) pas dans l’éco-communication aux effets considérables.

En optant pour des envois de SMS, votre engagement pour la planète est bel et bien réel immédiatement. Faire le choix de passer d’une campagne email à une campagne SMS, c’est réduire de près de 5 tonnes ses émissions de carbone tous les 100 000 messages envoyés… soit l’équivalent de 26 000 km en voiture !

Pas de compromis sur l’efficacité et la performance.

Le SMS, c’est un taux d’ouverture de 95% dans les 3 minutes qui suivent sa réception, un moyen très personnel de toucher vos clients et un outil parfait pour relayer vos communications.

Une amélioration de son image de marque grâce à sa démarche éco-responsable

Face à des clients et prospects de plus en plus exigeants en matière d’engagements pour le développement durable, la valorisation des démarches écologiques que vous avez adoptées vous permet d’être davantage en phase les enjeux planétaires actuels et de vous différencier vis-à-vis de vos concurrents.

Un média écologique qui ne coûte pas forcément beaucoup plus cher.

Certes une campagne email est moins chère à l’envoi. Mais si l’on compare le coût par message ouvert et par personne atteinte, l’écart se réduit considérablement. En effet, avec une ouverture de seulement 20% des messages envoyés (contre 95% pour le SMS), le coût d’un emailing s’en retrouve presque quintuplé !

La communication au centre de la démarche RSE (Responsabilité Sociétale et Environnementale)

L’éco-conception et le choix des supports de communication en fonction de la limitation des impacts sur l’environnement font partie des 3 piliers de la démarche RSE pour les métiers du marketing et de la communication définis par l’ADEME.

Décarbonez vos envois avec smsmode©

Grâce à smsmode© et son partenaire ecotree, faites passer le bilan carbone de votre marketing en positif !

Pour chaque abonnement souscrit, smsmode© plante entre 1 et 50 arbres en Forêt de Berné !  (Un arbre absorbe entre 10 et 40 kg de CO2 par an)

De quoi compenser bien plus que votre consommation SMS 😉.

Conclusion

Nous sommes convaincus que la communication responsable est la communication de demain. C’est une tendance de fond, un enjeu incontournable pour les années à venir. Avec ses 160 caractères, le SMS reste la plus sûre façon de faire baisser l’empreinte carbone numérique de votre entreprise, de montrer votre engagement écologique et… de faire rimer communication avec écologie !

l

Notre équipe vous conseille

Vous êtes intéressés par nos services ? Nos account managers et notre équipe techniques sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos solutions SMS et pour bénéficier des conseils de mise en place de campagne.

Nous contacter