THE SMSMODEĀ© BLOG

Drive-to-store: the number one marketing strategy for physical shops

4 February 2022

The Internet has become a privileged point of contact for all brands and their potential customers. But in-store sales are still relevant, they are evolving and can benefit from mobile to improve the customer experience. It is therefore essential to reduce the distance between online and offline, and more precisely, to bring web users into the shops. This practice is called drive-to-store. Discover how to generate qualified traffic in physical shops with web and mobile marketing, and how SMS performance can make your drive-to-store campaigns take off.

drive to store

What is drive-to-store?

Drive-to-store is the set of digital marketing actions implemented to generate traffic in shops. It brings together various communication strategies, but these techniques all converge towards the same objective: using the geographical data of prospects/customers to bring them into a physical shop.

Drive-to-store is not just about acquiring prospects through local SEO or localized display campaigns. It also concerns loyal customers, about whom you already have information that can enable you to run a more targeted campaign on consumers located in your geographical area who have already shown a clear interest in your brand and your products.

Why conduct drive-to-store actions?

The consumer 's experience when visiting a shop, the physical interaction with the product or the opinion and human approach that the salesperson can offer are all points that give in-store sales a decisive advantage. However, digital is king in other areas: acquisition, targeting and interactivity. Drive-to-store allows you to combine the advantages of both businesses to boost your turnover.

The retailers that succeed in an ever-changing digital landscape are those that anticipate and adapt to marketing trends. Drive-to-store becomes an essential investment for all shops. In fact, it accounts for 54% of retail advertising spend (a share that is expected to reach 65% of the market by 2023 according to an IHS Markit study).

Many consumers have a ROBO (Research Online Buy Offline) approach and drive-to-store allows you to be the store where the consumer comes to buy.

The benefits of SMS for drive-to-store

First of all, the drive-to-store SMS allows for cost control, great agility and total independence in the management of your campaign. Indeed, it is possible to set up a drive-to-store SMS campaign whatever the size of your contact base and your activity. SMS also allows you to use several different strategies such as click and collect, e-booking, couponing, competitions, promotional codes, loyalty rewards by accumulating points... Moreover, it differs from other advertising distribution channels by many advantages:

How to make a success of my drive-to-store campaign by SMS

Good targeting

The first step is the qualification of your database. To maximise your chances of success, you need to segment your contacts according to the geographical data collected from your customers/prospects (city, department, postcode). You can also curate your database by selecting consumers by purchasing habits, time of inactivity, loyalty points, etc.

An offer adapted to your objective

Choose your strategy according to your sector of activity, the size of your company and the objectives you wish to achieve:

  • Highlight an exceptional discount that encourages people to go to sales or private sales.
  • Send a Rich SMS with a geolocation link to announce a shop (re)opening.
  • Use the buying patterns and the direct mail option to promote a specific product that has just (re)appeared on your shelves.
  • Send an SMS with a link to a competition or containing an exclusive promo code giving access to discounts to boost your visits.
  • Communicate a special offer for loyal customers to pamper them.
  • Redirect your targets to a mobile landing page allowing Click and Collect or e-booking, to generate additional visits and sales in shop.
  • Include a countdown timer on your landing page to create a sense of urgency.

Ā 

TO GO FURTHER...
Rich SMS documentation
DOWNLOAD

The different drive-to-store strategies

Even if the goal is the same, there are different approaches to drive-to-store (and different results šŸ˜‰ ). Some strategies are search driven like:

  • Local referencing: in particular Google My Business which allows you to be present on a localized expression (ex: shoes Marseille).
  • Google Ads: with location extensions in your ads.
  • The store locator: designed to show the potential customer the nearest shop
  • The product locator: designed to indicate the availability of a product in a shop near you and product reviews.
  • Click and collect and e-booking.

Other techniques on display :

  • Geolocalised ads in mobile or desktop display.
  • Display on a GPS application like Waze.
  • Facebook Ads or other social networks with the "traffic at the point of sale" feature.
  • Geofencingdisplays such as beacon, a Bluetooth transmitter that sends push notifications via an app to customers entering a defined area around the store.

Unfortunately, there are several drawbacks to both types of techniques. First of all, there is a lack of information about the target. For most of these actions, we know nothing about the consumer, his buying habits, his intention, his relationship with the brand...

Secondly, the cost of these techniques. Whether it's a product that needs to be added to your website (such as a product locator), developing your presence in search results or running large-scale advertising campaigns, these strategies require a lot of investment in time and/or money, with conversion not always forthcoming.

To overcome these problems, it is necessary to be able to aggregate data on your prospects (postal code, city, telephone number, e-mail) and to use a channel where your advertising will be unmistakable without the price being prohibitive.

You can collect information in a number of ways: tracking, forms, creating customer accounts online or in your physical store, etc.

The most effective channel for distributing your advertising is SMS!

How to measure the impact of my drive-to-store campaign

The aim is of course to generate traffic in-store, but you also need to be able to measure the impact of your campaign. Performance analysis will need to combine online and offline information and data. The best way to do this is to integrate a specific element into your promotional offer. This can be in the form of a barcode, a QR code or a specific visual. When your customer goes to the shop, he will present this code to benefit from a promotion. On your side, you will be able to collect relevant data to measure the impact of your campaign and to know more about the buying behaviour: turnover generated by the campaign, purchase times, conversion rate, type of product, number of units per ticket...

All this data will allow you to know if your campaign was a success, but also to determine the type of customers who are sensitive to drive-to-store, the most attractive items or the most appropriate type of message.

The incremental visit

The incremental visit is a type of analysis that is becoming more and more widespread to calculate the impact of a drive-to-store strategy. It compares the behaviour of two groups of users segmented according to their exposure to the advertising campaign (control group or group NOT exposed VS group exposed). The analysis of the data carried out in a given time interval is used to determine theuplift, i.e. the variation in the number of visits attributed to the drive-to-store campaign.

sms marketing figures

Drive-to-store: a numerical success

  • 3 out of 4 consumers say they complete their orders in shop. (Samsung smart Retail study)
  • 8 out of 10 French people have the "digital reflex" to prepare their purchases online before going to a point of sale. (arcep)
  • 76% of smartphone users who received a communication by SMS have already visited a point of sale after this communication. (MMAF)
  • Drive-to-store accounts for 58% of total retail advertising spend (The State of Drive-to-Store Advertising 2019ā€³ conducted by IHS Markit)

What about drive-to-web?

If drive-to-store uses different channels to generate visits to the shop, drive-to-web works on the same principle with the aim of generating traffic to your website.

While some techniques differ, SMS advertising is still very effective for drive-to-web. For example, it is possible to direct the consumer to your products by sending a Rich SMS containing a link to your website.

l

Our team advises you

Are you interested in our services? Our account managers and our technical team are at your disposal to answer all your questions about our SMS solutions and to give you advice on how to set up a campaign.

Contact us

Campagne SMS pour une élection : Bonne ou mauvaise idée ? lire l'article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.read the article Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? Cómo optimizarlo. leer el artículo Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? Come ottimizzarlo.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

LE BLOG SMSMODE©

Le drive-to-store : la stratégie marketing N°1 pour les magasins physiques

Le 4 février 2022

Internet est devenu un point de contact privilégié pour toutes les enseignes et leurs clients potentiels. Mais la vente en boutique est toujours d’actualité, elle évolue et peut bénéficier du mobile pour améliorer l’expérience client. Il est donc fondamental de réduire la distance entre online et offline, et plus précisément, de faire venir les utilisateurs du web dans les magasins. Cette pratique, c’est le drive-to-store. Découvrez comment générer du trafic qualifié en boutique physique avec le web et le sms marketing, et comment la performance du SMS peut faire décoller vos campagnes de drive-to-store.

drive to store

Qu’est-ce que le drive-to-store ?

Le drive-to-store, c’est l’ensemble des actions de marketing digital mises en place pour générer du trafic en magasin. Il regroupe des stratégies de communication diverses, mais ces techniques convergent toutes vers le même objectif : utiliser les données géographiques des prospects/clients pour les faire venir dans une boutique physique.

Le drive-to-store ne se résume pas à l’acquisition de prospects par le référencement local ou des campagnes d’affichage localisées. Il concerne aussi les clients fidèles, sur lesquels vous possédez déjà des informations qui pourront vous permettre de mener une campagne plus ciblée sur des consommateurs situés dans votre zone géographique ayant déjà montré un intérêt certain pour votre enseigne et vos produits.

Pourquoi mener des actions drive-to-store ?

L’expérience vécue par le consommateur lors de sa visite en magasin, les interactions physiques avec le produit ou encore l’avis et l’approche humaine que peut offrir le vendeur sont autant de points qui font que la vente en magasin bénéficie toujours d’un avantage décisif. Pour autant, le digital est roi dans d’autres domaines : l’acquisition, le ciblage et l’interactivité. Le drive-to-store permet de fusionner les avantages des deux business pour booster votre chiffre d’affaires.

Les enseignes qui réussissent dans un paysage numérique en constante évolution sont celles qui anticipent et s’adaptent aux tendances du marketing. Le drive-to-store devient alors un investissement essentiel pour tous les magasins. D’ailleurs, il représente 54 % des dépenses publicitaires du retail (une part qui devrait représenter 65 % du marché d’ici 2023 selon une étude IHS Markit).

Beaucoup de consommateurs sont dans une démarche ROBO (Research Online Buy Offline) et le drive-to-store vous permet d’être l’enseigne dans laquelle le consommateur vient acheter.

Les avantages du SMS pour le drive-to-store

Tout d’abord, le SMS drive-to-store permet une maitrise des coûts, une grande agilité et une totale indépendance dans la gestion de votre campagne. En effet, il est possible de mettre en place une campagne de SMS drive-to-store quel que soit la taille de votre base de contact et votre activité. Le SMS marketing permet aussi d’utiliser plusieurs stratégies différentes comme le click and collect, la e-réservation, le couponing, les jeux-concours, les codes promotionnels, les récompenses de fidélité par cumuls de points… De plus, il se distingue des autres canaux de diffusion publicitaire par de nombreux avantages :

Comment réussir ma campagne drive-to-store par SMS

Un bon ciblage

La première étape est la qualification de votre base de données. Pour maximiser vos chances de réussite, il vous faut segmenter vos contacts en fonction des données géographiques récoltées auprès de vos clients/prospects (ville, département, code postal). Vous pouvez également effectuer une curation de votre base en sélectionnant les consommateurs par habitude d’achat, temps d’inactivité, points fidélité…

Une offre adaptée à votre objectif

Choisissez votre stratégie en fonction de votre secteur d’activité, de la taille de votre enseigne et des objectifs que vous souhaitez remplir :

  • Mettez en avant une réduction exceptionnelle qui incite à se déplacer pour des soldes ou des ventes privées.
  • Envoyez un Rich SMS avec un lien de géolocalisation pour annoncer une (ré)ouverture de magasin.
  • Utilisez les habitudes d’achat et l’option publipostage pour faire la promotion d’un produit spécifique venant de (re)faire son apparition dans vos rayons.
  • Envoyez un SMS avec un lien vers un jeu-concours ou contenant un code promo exclusif donnant accès à des réductions pour booster vos visites.
  • Communiquez une offre spéciale pour les clients fidèles afin de les choyer.
  • Rediriger vos cibles vers une landing page mobile permettant le Click and Collect ou la e-réservation, pour provoquer des visites et des ventes additionnelles en boutique.
  • Intégrez un compte à rebours dans votre landing page pour créer un sentiment d’urgence.

 

POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN…
Documentation sur le Rich SMS
À TÉLÉCHARGER

Les différentes stratégies de drive-to-store

Même si le but est le même, il y a différentes approches en matière de drive-to-store (et différents résultats 😉).  Certaines stratégies sont axées sur la recherche comme :

  • Le référencement local: notamment Google My Business qui vous permet d’être présent sur une expression localisée (ex : chaussures Marseille).
  • Google Ads: avec des extensions de localisation dans vos annonces.
  • Le store locator: conçu pour indiquer au client potentiel le magasin le plus proche
  • Le product locator: conçu pour indiquer la disponibilité d’un produit dans un magasin près de chez soi et des avis produits.
  • Le click and collect et la e-réservation.

D’autres techniques sur l’affichage :

  • Publicités géolocalisées en display mobile ou desktop.
  • Affichage sur une application GPS comme Waze.
  • Facebook Ads ou autres réseaux sociaux avec la fonctionnalité “trafic sur le lieu de vente”.
  • Affichage par geofencing comme le beacon, un émetteur Bluetooth qui permet d’envoyer des notifications pushs via une application aux clients entrant dans une zone définie autour du point de vente.

Malheureusement, ces deux types techniques présentent plusieurs inconvénients. Tout d’abord le manque d’information sur la cible. Pour la plupart de ces actions, nous ne savons rien sur le consommateur, ses habitudes d’achat, son intention, son rapport à la marque…

Ensuite, le coût de ces techniques. Qu’il s’agisse d’un produit dont il faut doter votre site internet (comme le product locator), de développer votre présence dans les résultats de recherche ou bien de mener des campagnes publicitaires de grande ampleur, ces stratégies demandent beaucoup d’investissement en temps et/ou argent, avec une conversion qui n’est pas toujours au rendez-vous.

Pour pallier ces problèmes, il faut pouvoir agréger des données sur vos prospects (code postal, ville, numéro de téléphone, mail) et passer par un canal ou votre publicité sera immanquable sans que le tarif soit rédhibitoire.

Pour recueillir des informations, vous pouvez procéder de plusieurs manières :  suivi de navigation, formulaires, création de comptes client en ligne ou dans votre enseigne physique…

Pour la diffusion de votre publicité, le canal le plus efficace est le SMS !

Comment mesurer l’impact de ma campagne de drive-to-store

Le but est bien entendu de générer du trafic en magasin, mais il faut aussi pouvoir mesurer l’impact de votre campagne. L’analyse des performances devra nécessairement combiner des informations et des données en ligne et hors ligne. Pour ce faire, le mieux est d’intégrer un élément spécifique dans votre offre promotionnelle. Ce dernier peut prendre la forme d’un code-barres, d’un QR code ou bien un visuel particulier. Quand votre client se rend en magasin, il présentera ce code pour bénéficier d’une promotion. De votre côté, vous pourrez collecter les données pertinentes pour mesurer l’impact de votre campagne et en savoir plus sur le comportement d’achat : Chiffre d’affaires généré par la campagne, horaires d’achat, taux de conversion, type de produit, nombre d’unités par ticket…

Toutes ces données pourront vous permettre de savoir si votre campagne a été un succès, mais aussi de déterminer la typologie de clients sensibles au drive-to-store, les articles les plus attractifs ou bien le type de message le plus adapté.

La visite incrémentale

La visite incrémentale est un type d’analyse de plus en plus répandu pour calculer l’impact d’une stratégie drive-to-store. Elle compare le comportement de deux groupes d’utilisateurs segmentés en fonction de leur exposition à la campagne publicitaire (groupe témoin ou groupe NON exposé VS groupe exposé). L’analyse des données effectuée dans un intervalle de temps donné sert à déterminer l’uplift, c’est-à-dire la variation du nombre de visites attribuées à la campagne de drive-to-store.

chiffres sms marketing

Le drive-to-store : une réussite chiffrée

  • 3 consommateurs sur 4 déclarent finaliser leurs commandes en magasin. (étude smart Retail Samsung)
  • 8 Français sur 10 ont le « réflexe digital » de préparer leurs achats en ligne avant de se rendre en point de vente. (arcep)
  • 76% des utilisateurs de smartphone ayant reçu une communication par SMS se sont déjà rendus en point de vente après cette communication. (MMAF)
  • Le drive-to-store représente 58% des dépenses publicitaires totales du secteur retail (The State of Drive-to-Store Advertising 2019″ menée par IHS Markit)

Qu’en est-il du drive-to-web ?

Si le drive-to-store utilise différents canaux pour générer des visites en magasin, le drive-to-web fonctionne sur le même principe avec pour but de générer du trafic sur votre site web.

Si certaines techniques diffèrent, la publicité par SMS reste très efficace pour le drive-to-web. Il est par exemple possible de diriger le consommateur vers vos produits par l’envoi d’un Rich SMS contenant un lien vers votre site internet.

l

Notre équipe vous conseille

Vous êtes intéressés par nos services ? Nos account managers et notre équipe techniques sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos solutions SMS et pour bénéficier des conseils de mise en place de campagne.

Nous contacter