smsmode© documentation

The smsmode© blog

2020 SMS A2P study

INFOGRAPHY
2020 Trends in A2P SMS

In order to produce this infographic on the 2020 trends in A2P SMS, we analysed over 83 million SMS messages sent by 1299 brands and companies via its solution over the period from 15 October 2019 to 14 January 2020. The results of this study highlight the trends in A2P SMS, in other words, the use of SMS by brands and companies in 2020.

Main conclusion: Notification SMS on the way to dethroning advertising SMS...

infographics Trends in SMS A2P

Nearly 49% of the SMS messages sent are notification SMS messages.

SMS notification is experiencing growth and dynamism that is based on the service-oriented potential of SMS. Indeed, historically dedicated to marketing, more and more companies are investing in SMS A2P to send notifications to their customers (appointment reminder, booking or purchase confirmation, automatic alert, security code, etc.). Whereas in 2017, the proportion was 39% SMS notification for 61% SMS marketing (AFMM figures), it is now around 49% for 51%.

 

0 marketing SMS sent on Sundays.

In order to protect the consumer and not subject him to too much advertising pressure, the sending of SMS marketing is strictly regulated. The latter is prohibited on Sundays, public holidays and every day during the 8pm and 8am time slots.

 

Nearly 62% of SMS messages contain between 121 & 160 characters.

The majority of messages sent by companies are short messages, because the 160 character limit, beyond which an SMS is said to be long, encourages the writing of more powerful messages.

 

9 out of 10 SMS messages are sent via a personalised sender.

The customization of the Sender ID allows brands to be immediately identified by message recipients. Better recognition that results in increased visibility and immediate trust with their customers and prospects.

 

More than 95% of the SMS messages sent are delivered.

In other words, more than 95% of messages sent by SMS reach their final target and are read immediately (the average time to open an SMS is only 1 to 4 minutes - MMAF digits). This level of deliverability is unmatched by other communication levers. This makes SMS A2P an ideal broadcast channel and particularly suitable for real-time communications.

 

0.13% unsubscription.

The low unsubscription rate observed on SMS A2P campaigns reflects the quality of targeting exerted on this lever. STOP SMS is historically a simple, reliable and functional way to unsubscribe. Persons who do not wish to receive advertising messages can use it to simply exercise their right to object at any time, free of charge. One might therefore expect a higher rate. However, sending SMS messages has a significant cost, so brands that use it typically clean up their opt-out and expired number databases after each sending to significantly reduce unsolicited messages.

contact sMsmode, communication platform

Our team advises you...

Are you interested in our services? Our sales and technical teams are at your disposal to answer all your questions about our SMS solutions and to benefit from SMS campaign implementation tips.

CONTACT US

Le blog smsmode

étude 2020 SMS A2P

INFOGRAPHIE
Tendances 2020 en SMS A2P

Afin de réaliser cette infographie sur les tendances 2020 en SMS A2P, nous avons analysé plus de 83 millions de SMS diffusés par 1299 marques et entreprises via sa solution sur la période du 15 octobre 2019 au 14 janvier 2020. Les résultats de cette étude met en lumière les tendances du SMS A2P, autrement dit, l’usage du SMS par les marques et entreprises en 2020.

Principale conclusion : Le SMS de notification en passe de détrôner le SMS publicitaire…

infographie Les tendances en SMS A2P

Près de 49% des SMS envoyés sont des SMS de notification.

La notification par SMS connait une croissance et un dynamisme qui s’appuie sur le potentiel serviciel du SMS. En effet, historiquement consacré au marketing, de plus en plus d’entreprises investissent le SMS A2P pour envoyer des notifications à leurs clients (rappel de rendez-vous, confirmation de réservation ou d’achat, alerte automatique, code de sécurité, etc.). Alors qu’en 2017, le prorata était de 39% de SMS notification pour 61% de SMS marketing (chiffres AFMM), il tourne aujourd’hui autour de 49% pour 51%.

 

0 SMS marketing envoyé le dimanche.

Afin de protéger le consommateur et de ne pas le soumettre à une pression publicitaire trop importante, l’envoi de SMS marketing est strictement réglementé. Ce dernier est interdit les dimanches, les jours fériés et chaque jour pendant le créneau horaire de 20h et 8h.

 

Près de 62% des SMS contiennent entre 121 & 160 caractères.

La majorité des messages envoyés par les entreprises sont des messages courts, car cette limite de 160 signes, au-delà de laquelle un SMS est dit long, favorise la rédaction de messages plus percutants.

 

9 SMS sur 10 sont envoyés via un émetteur personnalisé.

La personnalisation du Sender ID permet aux marques d’être immédiatement identifiées par les destinataires des messages. Une meilleure reconnaissance qui a pour incidence de gagner en visibilité et d’établir un lien de confiance immédiat avec leurs clients et prospects.

 

Plus de 95% des SMS envoyés sont délivrés.

Autrement dit, plus de 95% des messages envoyés par SMS atteignent leur cible finale et sont lus immédiatement (le délai moyen d’ouverture d’un SMS est que de 1 à 4 minutes — chiffres MMAF). Ce niveau de délivrabilité est inégalé par les autres leviers de communication. Cela fait du SMS A2P un canal de diffusion idéal et particulièrement adapté aux communications en temps réel.

 

0,13% de désinscription.

Le faible taux de désinscription constaté sur les campagnes SMS A2P reflète la qualité de ciblage exercé sur ce levier. Le STOP SMS est historiquement un moyen de désinscription simple, fiable et fonctionnel. Les personnes réfractaires à la réception de messages publicitaires peuvent grâce à lui simplement, gratuitement et à tout moment, exercer leur droit d’opposition. On pourrait donc s’attendre à un taux plus élevé. Cependant, l’envoi de SMS a un coût non négligeable, donc les marques qui l’utilisent nettoient généralement leurs bases de données des opt-out et des numéros expirés après chaque envoi pour réduire considérablement les messages non sollicités.

contact sMsmode, plateforme de communication

Notre équipe vous conseille…

Vous êtes intéressés par nos services ? Nos équipes commerciales et techniques sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions sur nos solutions SMS et pour bénéficier des conseils de mise en place de campagne SMS.

CONTACTEZ-NOUS