smsmode© white papers

Free white papers
& free studies

Through our white papers and studies, discover expert advice on how to master SMS sending and optimise the use of SMS in your communication.

PDF AVAILABLE IN ENGLISH, FRENCH AND SPANISH

 

BAROMETER 2022

 

How will businesses use SMS in 2022?

What dynamics for the A2P SMS in 2022? What new trends? What is the evolution of traffic compared to 2021? How has SMS marketing adapted to health restrictions? What impact will vaccination have on SMS notification?

These questions are answered in this third major survey on the A2P SMS.

To do this, smsmode© analysed more than 247 million SMS sent by some 2108 French brands and companies between 1 September 2021 and 31 January 2022.

The sending of A2P (Application to Person) SMS
(Application to Person) is a practice that is very popular with brands. It is a very effective way to establish a direct and immediate link with all their contacts.
While brands are always exploring new mobile messaging channels to create new ways of interacting with their customers (WhatsApp Business, RCS, etc.), SMS remains the universal solution. It is fully compatible with the mobile fleet and new uses continue to develop.

SMS A2P 2022 Barometer

Download our free 2022 barometer:

by filling in this form:

The personal data collected by CALADE TECHNOLOGIES is processed by computer. This process is specially designed to satisfy your requests. The treatment is based on your consent. Only CALADE TECHNOLOGIES team and our DPO have access to your data. This data is stored as long as needed to provide you with our services and to operate our business. At the end of our contractual relationship, the data will be kept for a 3 years period from our last contact, then archived for a 5 years max. duration. In accordance with the system currently in force, you are entitled to access, rectify, erase and limit your personal data. You are entitled to set the guidelines of this data after your death, to make an administrative appeal to a supervisory authority. For more informations, you can also join us at dpo(at)smsmode.com

SMS A2P 2022 STUDY

 


MARKETING OR NOTIFICATION?

The trend that began in 2020 continues to be confirmed in 2021. The number of SMS notifications sent continues to grow (+97% compared to the previous year). After overtaking marketing last year, notification is now the dominant channel, accounting for the overall increase in the number of messages sent (+45.28%) .

SMS marketing remains on the same dynamic as the previous year (-0.89%). Marketing mailings in 2020 were strongly impacted by the containment measures. 2021 will also have been a quiet year in terms of marketing traffic, probably slowed down by a health situation that did not allow marketers to carry out large-scale advertising operations.
However, there was a certain rebound at the end of the year, with an anticipation of mailings linked to promotional highlights, such as the approach of Black Friday. Communication campaigns around the sales were more important in 2021, but more spread out over time than in 2020.

number of sms per daysms marketing vs sms notification

WHEN ARE THE SMS SENT ?

As in 2020, SMS notification in 2021 remains evenly spread over the week. The only difference in 2021 is that Monday is slightly less popular and all other days of the week are more popular. The peak of sending is now on Tuesday and a decrease in the number of sendings takes place until Sunday.
On the marketing side, Fridays remain the favourite day for marketers to run their promotional campaigns via SMS. But it is Monday that now takes second place, replacing Tuesday, which is clearly decreasing compared to previous years. Saturday's share is also increasing year on year.

Percentage of sms per day


If the wide time slot from 8am to 8pm has been asserting itself year after year as the time slot representing the vast majority of sendings (marketing and notifications combined), 2021 is the year where this time slot reaches a kind of plateau (91.12% of SMS sent, against 91.15% in 2020).
In general, 2021 sees the morning becoming increasingly popular with businesses (33.69% of sends).

The 10am-11am time slot continues to be the preferred sending time (+3.29 points compared to the previous year), and the 11am-12am time slot is also gaining ground (+1.76 points). Only the 9-10 a.m. time slot loses 2.64 points.
Shipments are down after 4pm compared to last year (-1.84 points), probably due to the deceleration of delivery services and Click and Collect.

distribution of sms sending by hour

TO WHICH OPERATORS?

distribution of sms dispatch by operator

The distribution of SMS sent by operators is extremely stable from year to year, in line with their market shares:
Orange (30%), SFR (25%), Bouygues Telecom (20%) and Free (15%). The only slight change is that NRJ Mobile (5%) gains 1.39 points in 2021.

The rise of SMS notification announced in 2020 has indeed taken place in 2021. While SMS marketing has not returned to its pre-pandemic level, the digitalisation of exchanges has been confirmed and notification has driven the growth of A2P SMS as a whole.

The vaccination campaign is obviously not unrelated to this sharp increase in traffic. Online medical appointment booking platforms have seen an explosion in the number of SMS reminders and confirmations of appointments.

The SMS OTP (one-time password) has also played a major role in this growth. It had been impacted by the cessation of its use for banking transactions, but is finding a second wind in the multiplication of accounts requiring strong authentication. Connection to cryptocurrency wallets, remotely accessible company platforms (with the development of teleworking), or accounts hosting sensitive data are all new uses involving a strong need for security, to which the SMS provides a response.

Campagne SMS pour une élection : Bonne ou mauvaise idée ? lire l'article SMS delivery: What rate should you expect? How to optimize it.read the article Entrega de SMS: ¿Qué tasa debe esperar? Cómo optimizarlo. leer el artículo Consegna degli SMS: quale tasso di consegna si deve prevedere? Come ottimizzarlo.per saperne di più SMS-Zustellung: Welche Rate ist zu erwarten? Wie man sie optimiert.mehr erfahren

livres blancs smsmode©

Livres blancs
& études gratuits

Grâce à nos livres blancs et études, découvrez des conseils d’expert pour maîtriser l’envoi de SMS et optimiser l’utilisation du SMS dans votre communication.

PDF DISPONIBLE EN FRANÇAIS, ANGLAIS ET ESPAGNOL

 

BAROMÈTRE 2022

 

Comment les entreprises utilisent-elles le SMS en 2022 ?

Quelle dynamique pour le SMS A2P en 2022 ? Quelles nouvelles tendances ?  Quelle évolution du trafic par rapport à l’année 2021 ? Comment le SMS marketing s’est-il adapté aux restrictions sanitaires ? Quel impact de la vaccination sur la notification par SMS ?

Autant d’interrogations qui trouvent leurs réponses dans cette troisième grande enquête consacrée au SMS A2P.

Pour ce faire, smsmode© a analysé plus de 247 millions de SMS envoyés par quelques 2108 marques et entreprises françaises entre 1er septembre 2021 et le 31 janvier 2022.

L’envoi de SMS A2P (Application
to Person) est une pratique plébiscitée par les marques. Très performante, elle leur permet d’établir un lien direct et immédiat avec tous leurs contacts.
Si les marques explorent toujours de nouveaux canaux de messagerie mobile pour créer de nouvelles façons d’interagir avec leurs clients (WhatsApp Business, RCS, etc.), le SMS reste la solution universelle. Il bénéficie d’une compatibilité totale avec le parc mobile et les nouveaux usages continuent de se développer.

Baromètre SMS A2P 2022

Télécharger gratuitement notre baromètre 2022 :

en remplissant ce formulaire :

smsmode© a besoin des coordonnées que vous nous fournissez pour vous contacter au sujet de nos produits et services. Vous pouvez vous désabonner de ces communications à tout moment. Consultez notre Politique de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur nos modalités de désabonnement, ainsi que sur nos politiques de confidentialité et sur notre engagement vis-à-vis de la protection et de la vie privée. Vous pouvez également, pour un motif légitime, vous opposer au traitement des données personnelles vous concernant. Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits merci d’adresser un e-mail à dpo(at)smsmode.com.

ÉTUDE SMS A2P 2022

 


MARKETING OU NOTIFICATION ?

La tendance amorcée en 2020 continue de se confirmer en 2021. Le nombre de SMS notification envoyés ne cesse de progresser (+97% par rapport à l’année précédente). Après avoir dépassé le marketing l’an dernier, la notification s’impose désormais comme le canal dominant, portant à lui seul l’augmentation globale du nombre d’envois (+45,28%).

Le SMS marketing reste quant à lui sur la dynamique de l’année précédente (–0,89%). Les envois marketing de 2020 avaient été fortement impactés par les mesures de confinement. 2021 aura elle aussi été une année calme en matière de trafic marketing, probablement freinée par une situation sanitaire qui n’a pas permis aux marketeurs de mener des opérations publicitaires de grande ampleur.
On note cependant un certain rebond en fin d’année, avec une anticipation des envois liés aux temps fort promotionnels, comme à l’approche du Black Friday. Les campagnes de communication autour des soldes ont été plus importantes en 2021, mais plus étalées sur la durée qu’en 2020.

nombre de sms par joursms marketing vs sms notification

QUAND SONT RÉALISÉS LES ENVOIS ?

Comme en 2020, les envois de SMS notification 2021 restent répartis de manière égale sur la semaine. Seule différence en 2021, le lundi est légèrement moins plébiscité au profit de tous les autres jours de la semaine. Le pic d’envoi est désormais le mardi et une décroissance du nombre d’envois s’opère jusqu’au dimanche.
Côté marketing, le vendredi reste le jour préféré des marketeurs pour effectuer leurs campagnes promotionnelles par SMS. Mais c’est le lundi qui prend désormais la deuxième place, remplaçant ainsi le mardi qui recule nettement par rapport aux années précédentes. Le samedi voit également sa part augmenter d’année en année.

Pourcentage de sms par jour


Si la large plage horaire de 8h à 20h n’a cessé de s’affirmer d’année en année comme le créneau représentant l’immense majorité des envois (marketing et notifications confondus), 2021 est l’année où cette plage horaire atteint une forme de plateau (91,12% des SMS envoyés, contre 91,15% en 2020).
De manière générale, 2021 voit le matin devenir de plus en plus prisé par les entreprises (33,69% des envois).

Le créneau de 10h à 11h continue de s’affirmer comme l’heure d’envoi préférentielle (+3,29 points par rapport à l’année précédente), et le créneau 11h-12h gagne lui aussi du terrain (+1,76 point). Seul le créneau 9h-10h perd 2,64 points.
Les envois sont en baisse passé 16h par rapport à l’année dernière (–1,84 point), probablement en raison dela décélération des services de livraison et du Click an Collect.

repartition envoi sms par heure

VERS QUEL OPÉRATEURS ?

répartition envoi sms par opérateur

La répartition par opérateurs des envois de SMS est extrêmement stable d’année cette année, en cohérence avec leurs parts de marché :
Orange (30%), SFR (25%), Bouygues Télécom (20%) et Free (15%). Seule légère évolution, NRJ Mobile (5%) gagne 1,39 point en 2021.

La montée en puissance de la notification par SMS annoncée en 2020 a bien eu lieu en 2021. Si le SMS marketing n’a pas retrouvé son niveau d’avant la pandémie, la digitalisation des échanges s’est confirmée et la notification a porté la croissance du SMS A2P dans sa globalité.

La campagne de vaccination n’est évidemment pas étrangère à cette nette augmentation du trafic. Les plateformes de prise de rendez-vous médicaux en ligne ont vu leur fréquentation exploser, multipliant le nombre de SMS de rappels et de confirmations de rendez-vous.

Le SMS OTP (one-time password) a lui aussi joué un rôle majeur dans cette croissance. Lui qui avait été impacté par l’arrêt de son utilisation pour les transactions bancaires, trouve un second souffle dans la multiplication des comptes nécessitant une authentification forte. La connexion à des portefeuilles de cryptomonnaie, les plateformes d’entreprise accessibles à distance (avec le développement du télétravail), ou encore les comptes hébergeant des données sensibles sont autant de nouveaux usages impliquant un fort besoin de sécurité, auquel le SMS apporte une réponse.