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March 31, 2025 - 6 min read

How do you calculate the conversion rate of a SMS  campaign?

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Romain Didelot

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Introduction

The conversion rate of your SMS campaignis perhaps the most important of all the SMS KPIs. It enables you to calculate the return on investment of your campaigns, the cost of your campaign per purchase/customer, and also to determine whether your marketing is in line with your objectives. In short, the conversion rate enables you to improve your communication, campaign after campaign, and to have a clear vision of the results of your marketing efforts.

What is the conversion rate?

Sometimes called the transformation rate, the SMS conversion rate corresponds to the number of actions/objectives achieved, divided by the number of contacts who received a message during your campaign. It is therefore expressed as a percentage (by multiplying the result by 100).

The objective is usually to sell, but downloading a PDF can also be a sale, as can filling in a contact form.

Let's take a concrete example: you've run an SMS marketing campaign to encourage your contact base to buy a product using a promotional code. You've sent 1,000 SMS and 100 of your contacts have bought the product using this promotional code: your campaign's conversion rate is 10%. (100/1000 = 0.10 then 0.10×100 = 10)

What is the average SMS conversion rate?

In general, the conversion rate of an SMS campaign is 12%, 2 to 3 times higher than that of an email campaign. As for the RCSSMS 2.0) rate, it beats all records (18% on average)!

Of course, there are as many conversion rates as there are types of objective to be achieved.
If your objective is to download a document, sign up for a newsletter or create an account, your conversion rate will inevitably be higher than that associated with a sales objective.

In the mailing world, 4% is considered a good average. For a white paper download, you can expect a double digit conversion rate. If your goal is to sell a product with a high price tag, a rate of around 1% may be quite satisfactory.

Why calculate the conversion rate?

It's an essential element in optimizing the cost of your communication. What's more, when combined with other key performance indicators (KPI's) such as click-through rateconversion rate can help you improve your communication, sharpen your hooks, refine the way you segment your contact base and, ultimately, boost your sales.

How do I know if my SMS campaign has generated conversions?

As a SaaS SMS sending platform, smsmode©provides a large amount of data (reception rate, click rate on smsmode short links, etc.).©The SMS can be used to track the number of messages sent (e.g. sending errors, responses, unsubscriptions, etc.). But unlike a website, SMS in itself doesn't allow you to track your prospects from message reception to purchase action. Calculating the conversion rate of an SMS campaign can therefore seem complicated.

However, there are a number of techniques you can use to find out whether your SMS campaign has been successful, and there's no need to track your customers' every move. Here are a few scenarios you can use to determine a campaign's conversion rate:

Evaluating the conversion rate of an SMS campaign: for an e-commerce site

For a physical shop

SMS : the No. 1 channel for conversion

Marketing Charts has carried out a comparative study of the conversion rates of the different acquisition channels (note that clicking on a link can also be an objective, and this is surely one of the most achievable, with an average of 30%).

In this study, the average conversion rate for marketing via SMS is 29%.

Measured against similar objectives, the conversion rate of SMS is much higher than that of other digital marketing channels:

How to improve the conversion rate of your campaigns SMS

Personalise your message

You probably know that personalization is important. The Marketing Charts study revealed that visitors who viewed three pages of personalized content had a conversion rate twice as high (3.4%) as those who viewed two (1.7%).

While personalizing web content and landing pages can be complicated, sending a personalized SMS is child's play. You can address your customers by their first name, or by their title if you operate in B2B. With smsmode© And the direct mail optioneverything is customizable!

Include a clear call to action (CTA)

Traditional SMS only offer 160 characters, so you need to communicate clearly with your prospects. The call to action must be immediately visible to your recipient. Remember that only the first few words of a text message are visible before the SMS is opened. So it's essential to communicate the subject of the text in the very first sentence. Otherwise, you run the risk of the message being deleted without being read.

Use A/B tests for SMS

This is a well-known technique for sales pages to determine which advertisement or text has generated the most responses.

You can replicate this technique on your SMS campaigns: test different catchphrases, different products, different targets...

You can then keep what works best, or even create marketing automation scenarios or a conversion tunnel, where the achievement of one objective leads to another, with the act of purchase as the ultimate goal. You can also test a small group/segment to detect any problems.

Conclusion

The days when advertising was limited to billboards, newspaper ads or TV commercials are long gone. Marketing has become a major budget item for most companies, and it's only natural to want to know exactly how much your marketing campaign has earned. Calculating the conversion rate of your SMS campaigns will enable you to know your return on investmentbut also to realize that SMS is one of the best channels for converting.

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March 18, 2025 - 8 min read

SMS vs Push Notifications

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Romain Didelot

SMS vs push notification

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Introduction

82.8% of people under 60 have a smartphone (Insee), and we spend an average of 3.6 hours a day using mobile applications. So, to reach your customers at the right time and in the right place, you can't do without the two most important mobile information channels: SMS and push notification.

But what type of message is best suited to your business? What messaging should be used for different purposes? On what data should you base your decision?

The following guide is here to help you compare push notifications to SMS and understand which best meets your business challenges and your customers' needs. Whether it's to get a message across quickly, boost engagement, sales or loyalty; explore the distinctions between SMS and push notifications, their respective strengths, KPIs, and use cases to choose the right communication channel for your business.

SMS and Push notifications. What's the difference?

There are important distinctions between these two channels, and they can have an impact on the effectiveness of your messaging strategy.

SMS (Short Message Service) lets you send text messages of up to 160 characters to your customers (longer messages can be sent, but several SMS are then counted). They appear in the device's native messaging application, unlike push notifications, which by their very nature require the installation of an application. What's more, SMS notifications can be sent to any cell phone.

Push notifications, on the other hand, are brief alerts triggered by an application that the customer has already downloaded. The user's phone must therefore be a smartphone. It's not necessarily necessary for the application to be active for the alert to appear, in the form of banners, alerts or pop-ups.

Benefits comparison: SMS vs. push notification

Opt-in

On both channels, it is necessary for users to have opted-in to receive messages. Until recently, it was still possible to start sending push notifications without recipients having to provide explicit written consent, but on IOS and Android from Android 13 onwards, consent is now mandatory.

In the case of SMS notifications, explicit consent generally implies that customers give their consent by providing their telephone number or by subscribing to a mailing list.

However, in terms of subscription rates, SMS and push notification are not the same! Subscription rates for push notifications vary from 0.5% to 15%, depending on the device and industry, while those for SMS approach 70%. (source: Mobile Services)

Visibility & Commitment

In a classic configuration, the SMS is visible on a locked screen and triggers a ringtone or vibration when received. This ensures maximum visibility. On receiving an SMS, users can read, click on a link or reply.

Push notifications can appear as a banner, on the lock screen or on unlocking. They can appear in a list, individually, or stacked with other notifications. Their display depends on your users' preferences. This means you have very little control over visibility, and it's easy to miss a push notification that's only visible for a few seconds.

In terms of engagement, push notifications still have some advantages over SMS. It can include action buttons, deep links and allows users to perform actions directly within the application. All without changing environment, for a seamless experience.

Memorization

Push notifications can easily be ignored or deleted without being read, whereas SMS are often opened and read immediately upon receipt (90% are read within 4 minutes). For important or urgent messages, SMS is therefore preferable.

User experience

SMS are familiar to most cell phone users. They are integrated into every phone's standard messaging application. On the other hand, recipients have less control over their preferences regarding your communications, and usually only have the option of subscribing or unsubscribing.

With push notifications, the user is king. They have a great deal of control over the type of notification they receive, how they receive them, and how the messages appear on their device.

Personalization

In both cases, companies can segment the user base to send targeted, personalized messages based on user preferences, behaviors or demographics. This makes it possible to deliver relevant, tailored messages, which in turn improves engagement.

When it comes to personalizing the messages themselves, SMS can include variables such as $name, $first name, $mail, $product... The text and potential links in the message can therefore be personalized according to these variables. SMS 's sender can also be personalized .

Push notifications, meanwhile, offer a more visual and interactive way of engaging with users. They can include rich media, such as images or videos, and can be personalized with brand elements to create an immersive experience.

Scope and accessibility

Notifications via SMS have a much wider reach than push notifications, as they can be received on any cell phone. If you want to target a wide audience, or customers who may not have installed your application, SMS is the ideal channel.

Push notifications, on the other hand, are limited to users who have installed the application and opted to receive notifications. Although push notifications offer a more targeted approach, they may not reach as many users as notifications via SMS.

It's also worth noting that SMS don't require an internet connection to be received, unlike push notifications, which do. This means that SMS can be used even with limited or unavailable internet connectivity, making it a more reliable option for reaching recipients in all situations.

Compatibility

SMS is compatible with all cell phones, from smartphones to basic laptops. Unlike push notifications, which often require specific applications or operating systems, SMS can reach a wider audience and ensure that all recipients can receive them.

IN BRIEF
Push notification or SMS ? The ultimate comparison
Comparison SMS vs Push Notifications

Push notification vs. SMS : The KPIs match-up

Open rate

SMS

98%

Push notification

7,8%

On this indicator, the figures speak for themselves. And since 90% of SMS are read within the first three minutes of being sent, you're almost certain to attract customers' attention to your message this way.

Please note, however, that it is possible to view and/or read a push notification without opening it, which inevitably has an impact on the rate. Moreover, opening the notification opens the application, even if the action was not desired by the user, which may give a reason for not wanting to open the notification.

Click-through rate

SMS

6,16% à 36%

Push notification

7,8%

(4.9% on iOS and 10.7% on Android)

As you've probably guessed, for notification purposes, click-through rate and open rate are the same thing, since clicking leads to opening. However, click-through rate, like conversion rate (29%), is a KPI where SMS comes out on top.

→ Read our article on SMS click-through rates

Delivery time

SMS

< 4 secondes

Push notification

instant

The delivery time of SMS depends on the channel used, the traffic at the time of sending and your recipient's operator.

As push notifications pass through the Internet data stream, the delay should be counted in milliseconds. Be careful, however, as Apple's push notification service (APNS) does not provide information on the delivery of your notification. Unlike your SMS service provider, who can tell you exactly which messages have been delivered.

Use cases for these two channels

It's the #1 decision factor for companies. Push and SMS notifications are not necessarily mutually exclusive, depending on the type of message and objective, the profile and preferences of the target audience, and the budget and resources available.

Push notifications

Visit SMS

* One Time Password. For security reasons, SMS is preferred for connections, transactions and sensitive information. Indeed, SMS ensures a deliverability rate of over 95%. Sending one-time passwords is more secure via SMS than via push notification.

Best practices for using each channel

Push Notifications

  1. Avoid spam and excessive messaging (customers bothered by notifications may uninstall your application).
  2. Added value in every notification
  3. Segment users for optimal personalization

SMS

  1. Respect the appropriate dispatch times
  2. Keep messages short and clear
  3. Include clear instructions for calls to action
GOING FURTHER
Discover the 10 keys to effective, profitable SMS campaigns.
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

Conclusion

SMS notifications and push notifications are both valuable tools for companies to reach their customers on mobile devices. While SMS notifications offer wider reach and immediate engagement, push notifications offer more interactive and personalized experiences within an app.

By understanding the differences between these communication channels, and taking into account your company's specific needs, you can now choose the right channel to effectively engage your customers and drive your business forward.

Whether you opt for SMS notifications, push notifications or a combination of both, maintaining a customer-centric approach and delivering relevant messages will be the key to success on mobile. It's up to you! 😉

SOURCES :
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Generate and share short links for your mobile messages

A short link generator integrated into your customer area, to convert a link into a short URL of just 12 characters. No additional manipulation or external tools required. This short link can be used in SMS, RCS or WhatsApp Business messages. Get a short link for landing pages created via the smsmode© feature, or for any other URL (landing page, website, mobile application, social networking page or profile, etc.).

This URL shortener feature is only included in Classic, Medium and Premium subscriptions.

Why shorten my link via smsmode© ?

sms answer

How to shorten a URL and insert a short link on the platform smsmode© ?

When you include a short link in your message, all you need is 12 characters (the length of a short link, smsmode©) in place of the original link. If you don't want to personalize your short link, you can skip to step 2: using and tracking short links.

smsmode© has set up an automatic reduction of all your links, whatever the solution used (online platform, API, Mail2SMS...) as well as an option to add "https". You can have these options activated by your account manager.

STEP 1

Creating a short link

A URL that has already been shortened will remain the same short link (unless deleted).

STEP 2

Using and tracking short links

Need more info?
We look forward to hearing from you.

Create your free account

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January 14, 2025 - 5 min read

The click-through rate of SMS

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Romain Didelot

Click-through rate SMS

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Introduction

Inserting a link in a SMS ad generates traffic to your website and encourages your customers to make a purchase. The click-through rate is therefore one of the most important performance indicators of a communication campaign. And as with many other KPIs and statistics (conversion, ROI...), SMS is the n°1 channel for mobile marketing..

Find out what click-through rate you can expect with a marketing SMS but also how to calculate, analyze and optimize this key indicator.

What is the click-through rate?

The "click-through rate" or "CTR" (Click Through Rate) is the percentage of people who clicked on a link after seeing it (clicks/impressions). For SMS, this statistic is derived from the number of recipients who clicked on the link contained in SMS, divided by the number of people who opened SMS.

For example, if 10 customers receive your brand's SMS and 2 of them click on the URL, the click-through rate is 20%.

How to calculate a campaign's click-through rate SMS

The formula is quite simple.
Let's say you sent 500 SMS to 500 different telephone numbers. Of these recipients, 50 actually clicked on the link in your SMS. This means your click-through rate is 10%. 50 divided by 500 equals 10%.

To obtain this statistic, the challenge lies rather in your ability to know the number of clicks on the URL. While this data is often available within a sponsored links, emailing or social ads campaign, few SMS providers give you access to these statistics.

At smsmode©, we enable you to calculate click-through rates natively with the URL shortener function smsmode©.

How does it work? Instead of using a classic URL in your SMS, you first shorten the link with the "URL shortener" function smsmode©. Once the link has been shortened, you can place it in your message.

Thanks to this function, not only do you save characters, but after sending your SMS, you'll be able to see in real time how many customers clicked on the link.

The Rich SMS function, including a Landing-Page editor and URL shortener available by subscription, goes even further.

It allows you to :

TO FIND OUT MORE
The power of a mobile web page for your SMS campaigns
sms enriched

If you don't use the short link generator smsmode©The tracking of link data from your SMS messages can only be done using analysis software such as Google Analytics, in order to be able to analyze the results and performance of each campaign. In this case, be sure to set up filters on your links to ensure that clicks come from your campaigns SMS.

Unfortunately, adding UTMs will make your URLs endless, which lengthens and confuses your communication, not to mention the sense of mistrust that the link may cause.

What is a good click-through rate for a SMS campaign?

There is no hard and fast rule for what constitutes a good CTR. A satisfactory CTR depends mainly on the objectives set by the company. Each campaign has its own requirements.

A single click that leads to a conversion and therefore a sale can sometimes be enough, as this sale can cover your costs and match the expectations of your marketing campaign SMS. Other customers may need a CTR of more than 10% to generate a sufficient number of leads that would lead to an appropriate amount of new business being generated subsequently.

What is the average click-through rate on SMS ?

Statistics on this point vary greatly depending on the source:

From what smsmode© has observed in various campaigns in France, the click-through rate for SMS marketing is between 6% and 16%..

STUDY
SMS trends and key performances under the microscope

Discover our major study based on 745 million SMS sent.

SMS trends in 2024

One thing is certain: whatever the data used, click-through rate, like conversion and ROIis yet another KPI where SMS comes out on top. Even 6% seems huge compared to email marketing (2.80%), sponsored links (1.98%) and social network advertising (0.05%) (source: tatango.com).

And it's up to you to make these averages your minimum 😉.

How can you optimize the click-through rate of your SMS ?

Let's start by sweeping aside the obvious: including links in SMS is the best way to get clicks. Without links, the recipient of your messages has nothing to click on and nowhere to go.

Assert your brand identity

A low click-through rate is often due to mistrust on the part of the recipient. To reassure them, remember to correctly identify yourself as the sender of the message. The best way to do this is to personalize your Sender ID. Otherwise, at the very least, mention your brand name in the body of the SMS message.

Another good practice is to preserve your brand in the link. Unknown URLs can be perceived as spam. This can affect your performance.

Watch the number of characters in your message

A SMS is limited to 160 characters. If your link or message is too long, you risk incurring additional charges, or even sending a truncated SMS if you're using an API and there's a configuration or query fault (nbr_message=1 for example).

Also take into account the mandatory presence of the STOP sign SMS.

Use line breaks

The line break costs you only one character, but it saves you structure. These line breaks make your communication clearer, more professional and allow you to present your link as a real CTA.

Personalise your message

The more personalized a message is to your consumers, the higher the click-through rate.

Some ideas for personalization:

GOING FURTHER
Discover the 10 keys to effective, profitable SMS campaigns.
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

View link preview images and optimize your statistics with RCS

Have you ever heard of RCS? This new messaging protocol is a revolution in mobile marketing. It enables many things, including personalized previews. To benefit from this preview, all you have to do is set a title, description and image when you create your link, and then insert it into your SMS messages.

Statistics soar with RCS! We've seen clicks and conversions 3X higher on RCS campaigns.

Contact us to find out how many of your contacts are compatible.

The next KPI

You now have all the keys you need to calculate and optimize the click-through rate of your campaigns. The next KPI to optimize is conversion rate SMSThis will enable you to calculate the conversion rate of each campaign, giving you a clear view of the return on investment of your SMS marketing campaigns.

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January 13, 2025 - 7 min read

The KPIs of SMS

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Romain Didelot

KPIs SMS

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Introduction

Measuring marketing performance is fundamental to understanding the effectiveness of your actions and maximizing your ROI. In this respect campaigns SMS are no exception, and include specific Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) such as delivery rate, open rate and click-through rate (CTR), which need to be known and analyzed. Not only do they enable you to measure the effectiveness of your communications, they also enable you to identify optimization opportunities to ensure that your messages reach the target audience and provoke the desired engagement.

Defining a KPI

A KPI, or key performance indicator, is a quantified figure that reflects the extent to which an objective has been achieved. These KPIs can vary according to what you want to measure: the growth of your contact list, the sales generated by your campaigns, customer engagement, etc. KPIs must be SMART, i.e. Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Time-bound. For example, a SMART KPI might be: increase the conversion rate of my SMS campaigns by 10% in 6 months.

The importance of KPIs in campaigns SMS

SMS marketing is a highly effective lever for companies. It's short (160 characters), instantaneous (average reading time 90 seconds) and personal (perceived as a private message). SMS has an opening rate of 98%, a response rate of 45% and a conversion rate of 29% on average. These figures are well above those of other channels such as e-mail, which has an average open rate of 20%, a response rate of 6% and a conversion rate of 3%.

These specificities mean that the choice of indicators must take into account the nature of SMS and its impact on the customer. Properly determining the indicators to track enables you to evaluate the performance of a campaign and optimize future ones based on customer feedback. They also enable you to improve the benchmark KPI: return on investment (ROI), by comparing the cost of sending SMS to the sales generated by the campaign.

Which indicator should you choose for SMS Marketing?

To determine which indicators to track, you first need to define your marketing objectives. What is the aim of your campaign? Building customer loyalty, encouraging them to buy, informing them, getting them to take part in a competition, etc.? Next, you need to identify the indicators that will enable you to measure the effectiveness of your strategy. For example, if your objective is to build customer loyalty, you can use the retention rate, the reactivity rate or the churn rate.

GOING FURTHER
SMS or email? The ultimate comparison
Comparison SMS vs Mail

The 6 main KPIs of the SMS

What are the main KPIs to track for your campaigns SMS ? How do you calculate and interpret them? What factors influence these indicators?

Discover the 6 essential KPIs of SMS.

Delivery rate: 1st performance indicator

The delivery rate is the first indicator to take into account. It corresponds to the number of SMS received in relation to the number of SMS sent. It is calculated as follows:

Delivery rate (%) = (Number of SMS delivered / Number of SMS sent) x 100

The delivery rate is essential, as it reflects the quality of your contact base, the routing capacity of your SMS platform and the availability of the network. If your deliverability is low, it means you're losing part of your audience and wasting resources. A good delivery rate is over 98%.

To improve your delivery rate, you need to :

Open rate: a measure of initial commitment

The open rate is the percentage of SMS opened by recipients in relation to the number of SMS delivered:

Open rate (%) = (Number of SMS opened / Number of SMS delivered) x 100

The open rate is a measure of your contacts' initial engagement. It indicates whether your message has aroused interest and curiosity. It is influenced by the relevance of your message, the time and day it was sent, and the sender's name. A good open rate is over 95%.

To improve it, you can :

The click-through rate (CTR): evaluating the effectiveness of Call-to-Actions

The click-through rate (CTR) represents the proportion of messages that have generated a click on a link, in relation to the number of SMS opened:

Click-through rate (%) = (Number of clicks / Number of SMS opened) x 100

The click-through rate is an evaluation of the effectiveness of your Call-to-Action (CTA). It indicates whether your enriched message has prompted your recipients to take action, by directing them to your website, application, product sheet, form, etc. It depends on the quality of your offer, the clarity of your call-to-action and the trust placed in your message. It depends on the quality of your offer, the clarity of your call to action and the trust placed in your message and URL. A good click-through rate is above 10%.

There are several factors to take into account to improve this rate:

GOING FURTHER
Discover the 10 keys to effective SMS campaigns
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

Conversion rate: the culmination of marketing efforts

The conversion rate measures the percentage of SMS that have resulted in the achievement of the desired objective, such as a purchase, registration, download, etc. It's the culmination of your marketing strategy. It indicates whether your SMS campaign has achieved its objectives and generated sales for your company.

Its calculation is as follows: Next :

Conversion rate (%) = (Number of conversions / Number of SMS delivered) x 100

Many factors influence it, such as the added value of your proposition, the ease of the buying process and the recipient's trust in your brand. A good conversion rate is above 5%. With SMS it can be very high.

Here are some tips on how to improve it:

Churn: understanding audience loss

The unsubscribe rate corresponds to the number of SMS s that triggered an unsubscribe request in relation to the number of SMS s delivered:

Churn rate (%) = (Number of churns / Number of SMS delivered) x 100

It's an indicator of customer satisfaction with your marketing. If your mailings are perceived as useful and interesting, it will remain close to zero. On the contrary, if your communications are perceived as intrusive, inappropriate or undesirable, it could soar. A good churn rate is less than 1%.

Some best practices to reduce your churn rate :

R.O.I.: the king of KPIs

ROI (for Return On Investment) is a way of assessing the profitability of an investment, taking into account the money invested in a campaign and the money earned as a result. It's the most interesting KPI for an entrepreneur, because it lets you know whether an action is profitable, which is the basis for commercial success.

The R.O.I. formula

R.O.I = (revenues - costs) / costs x 100.

The ROI of SMS is influenced by a number of parameters, such as the place of SMS in your strategy, the quality of your mailing list, the message, the offer and your user experience. The average ROI for SMS is over 3000%.

To optimize the ROI of your campaigns SMS :

GOING FURTHER
Find inspiration at SMS .

60 original examples for high-ROI campaigns.

Analyze and optimize your campaigns using the KPIs of the SMS

Using data is the key to getting better at mobile marketing. To do this effectively, you need to follow a rigorous, iterative process, which breaks down into four steps:

This process needs to be repeated regularly, to ensure continuous improvement of your campaigns, and to adapt to changes in the market and your customers' needs.

Analyze and optimize your campaigns using the KPIs of the SMS

Pitfalls to avoid in interpretation

Interpreting KPIs is not an exact science, and can be subject to error, bias and misunderstanding. To avoid these pitfalls, adopt a critical and objective approach, respecting a few basic principles:

By adhering to these principles, you'll be able to interpret your results more accurately and avoid analysis errors that could harm your performance.

GOING FURTHER
Boost your mass mailings. 4 effective actions.

Discover all the communication possibilities offered by mobile mass marketing campaigns. 

White paper SMS advertising through 4 action sheets

Conclusion

SMS KPIs are important to your success, as they enable you to identify the strengths and weaknesses of your SMS campaign. They enable you to test and validate hypotheses through data-controlled experiments, as well as learn about your customers' journeys, profiles and behavior. With them, you have all the keys you need for effective, relevant communication. Now all you have to do is exploit their findings for your future campaigns SMS.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

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We look forward to hearing from you.
January 12, 2025 - 6 min read

Return on investment : SMS is ROI

Image author

Romain Didelot

KING SMS

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Introduction

There are two essential questions for any company: How much do you make? How much does it cost? ROI (Return On Investment) is the indicator that provides a precise answer to these two questions. Among KPIs SMSROI is the benchmark, as it is in all sectors. And when it comes to R.O.I., SMS comes out on top. Follow the guide.

Discover the benefits, options, parameters, creation and follow-up of surveys via SMS to optimize participation rates and the reliability of the data collected, while improving the customer experience.

What is the ROI of SMS ?

On average, €1 spent on SMS generates €50 in sales. The return on investment for SMS is therefore 4900%.

It has to be said, however, that this figure is an average. The profitability of this mobile marketing strategy depends on many variable factors:

High response rate

This is the major advantage of SMS surveys: the opening rate of SMS (98%), ensuring almost guaranteed visibility. This high open rate translates into a very significant customer response rate (often around 45%), far superior to that of e-mail or other more traditional survey methods. This efficiency favors the acquisition of a large number of quality responses. And the uniqueness of the telephone number improves the reliability of the data collected and the results obtained.

Generally speaking, SMS is the most cost-effective communication medium.

Why is the ROI of SMS so high?

There are several reasons why SMS is a particularly ROI-producing channel. Firstly, the costs associated with mailings are relatively low compared with most marketing channels (the unit cost of SMS is between 3 and 7 cents). Secondly, a number of KPIs work in SMS 's favor:

With SMS 's low cost and high engagement, it's only logical that its performance is second to none.

How can I accurately calculate the R.O.I. of my shipments?

Calculating the return on investment of SMS is similar to all ROI calculations. You need to determine how much you have spent (on marketing actions, advertising, etc.), so that you can prioritize the most profitable investments in the future.

To do this, subtract the money invested from the profits, then divide the resulting amount by the cost of the investment. The result is then multiplied by 100 to express the ratio as a percentage.

ROI formula: R.O.I = (revenues - costs) / costs x 100.

It's a good idea to monitor the performance of your SMS campaigns using analysis and measurement tools to know how profitable your actions are.
For example, determine the costs associated with your SMS communication, including mailing costs, mailing list management, content creation, etc.
Then track conversions and sales generated. This can be done using tools such as Google Analytics, which track link clicks and conversions.

For your marketing strategy SMS, you need at least the following data to calculate your R.O.I:

(The price per SMS multiplied by the number of messages sent gives you the cost of the investment, the sales figure gives you the associated revenue)

Calculation examples

My SMS campaign costs 1,000 euros and generates 10,000 euros in sales.

(10 000 € - 1 000 €) / 1 000 € x 100 = 900 %

This means that every euro invested in campaign generated 9 euros in revenue.

It's important to note that ROI should not be considered an absolute measure of the success of a marketing initiative. Other factors such as the reach of your communication, information gathered on the quality of the mailing list, impact on user experience and customer satisfaction must also be taken into account when assessing the overall success of an action.

Customer case study: the R.O.I of a "Panda Tea" SMS campaign

Our customer Panda Tea decided to launch a marketing campaign at SMS. The campaign targeted 20,000 recipients, at a total cost of around €1,000. At the end of this operation, 2926 customers made one or more purchases, bringing the profit from this marketing campaign to €64,372.

(64372 - 1000) / 1000 x 100 = 6337,2%

Every euro spent by Panda Tea on the SMS campaign generated €63.37.

SUCCESS STORY
Panda Tea triples its R.O.I with RCS, the new-generation SMS
Panda Tea triples conversion rate with RCS campaign

Calculating ROI for a physical store

For a store, the ROI calculation doesn't change. The biggest difference with the web lies in the way you discover the revenue generated by your mailings.

You'll need to be clever, for example, by adding a promo code specific to your action in your text, or by indicating that you need to show the SMS received at the checkout to benefit from your offer.

How can I optimize the ROI of my campaigns?

To improve the profitability of your SMS campaigns, you will need to review the various performance indicators at your disposal in detail, in order to determine what can be optimized:

- Delivery rate: The percentage of your shipments delivered successfully. It informs you about the quality of the telephone number database used. If it's not satisfactory, clean up your your mailing list.

- Open rate: The percentage of delivered messages that have been opened. It gives you an idea of the effectiveness of your Sender ID and first line of text. If your openings aren't up to standard, you can choose a more impactful tagline for your next action.

- Click-through rate: The percentage of SMS opened messages that have generated a click on a link included in the message. It indicates the effectiveness of your content. To optimize it, aim to write content that engages your customers and an optimal URL or button to generate actions.

- Conversion rate: The percentage of recipients who have carried out the desired action (purchase, registration, contact request, etc.). This is the ultimate indicator of the effectiveness of your communication in generating commercial results.

- Cost per conversion: The average cost of each conversion, calculated by dividing the total cost of the campaign by the number of conversions generated. It is useful for observing the profitability of your actions in relation to your margin.

By using these key performance indicators, you can make decisions based on accurate data and really improve results in the future.

smsmode© the ideal partner to boost your ROI

Calculating ROI isn't difficult. Getting all the information you need to make an accurate calculation, however, can be time-consuming. With smsmode©, your enriched campaigns (SMS + URL link with or without landing page) can be precisely monitored!

In your customer area, you have access to all essential data in real time. The number of SMS received, their status, but above all: the number of clicks on each link(s). This information is vital for calculating, for example, your average basket, conversions, clicks... In order to know precisely all the elements that have an impact on ROI.

This integrated solution allows you to calculate your ROI in a simple way, without having to dig through a multitude of different tools to find the data you need to calculate your profitability.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

Need more info?
We look forward to hearing from you.

June 09, 2024 - 3 min read

SMS low-cost: the hidden dangers behind it SMS

Image by Elsa Paparone
Elsa Paparone

Elsa Paparone

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Introduction

With the explosion of digital communication, sending campaigns SMS With the explosion in digital communications, low-cost mailing campaigns have rapidly gained in popularity, thanks to the promise of substantial savings. At first glance, these services may appear to be a godsend for individuals and companies looking to reduce the cost of sending out their communication campaigns, but in reality, these tempting prices conceal risks that could jeopardize your business.

Let's find out together to what extent using this low-cost SMS can represent a risk to your business, and how these apparent savings can actually cost you dearly in the long run. Whether you're a budget-conscious consumer or an entrepreneur looking to optimize your spending, it's crucial to understand the pitfalls and dangers associated with SMS .

What is SMS lowcost?

SMS can sometimes appear to be a simple product that could simply be contrasted with SMS premium. In reality, however, it's SMS sent via grey (unregistered) routes , or even directly from SIM cards. There are various variants on the market, more or less reliable, but it's important for us, as a trusted supplier, to help our customers make an informed choice between the different offers available to them.

For a long time, SMS low cost was favored for its low routing costs and the ambiguity surrounding its legality. This ambiguity has been criticized, but is still used, and is still the reason why some suppliers are so successful today.

Allowing message campaigns to be sent at unbeatable rates, this service does not, however, meet either the legal obligations dictated by the RGPD or the expected performance requirements (deliverabilitycustomer reception without personalized senders, Opt-out feedback...).

A service without guarantees, unprotected data

The SMS low cost allows you to send your messages at a very reduced rate, but does not meet the legal obligations in the context of sending a commercial message or even today, the conditions imposed by the General Regulation for the Protection of Personal Data. Features of which you need to be aware.

The actions taken by operators to block this "illegal" traffic and the legal sanctions against users of these products mean that the service has no guarantee of continuity or performance.

The SMS marketingwhich originally used these routes, has almost totally abandoned them, as they are too often blocked by operators, threatening campaign performance. In addition, SMS is managed in the most illegal way. How can we protect what is illegal? This data is neither deleted nor encrypted. This is why the law is being tightened to ensure that user data is only entrusted to reliable operators, capable of protecting a company's content for its customers.

GOING FURTHER
Discover the 10 best practices before sending campaigns SMS
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

What does the law say?

The GDPR came into force on 25 May 2018. This text, which protects personal data, reinforces the responsibility of companies processing sensitive data. A decision of July 2018 confirms this position.

This type of SMS is not compatible with the General Regulation for the Protection of Personal Data collected according to the CNIL (Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertés). As a reminder, the RGPD gives Supervisory Authorities the power to impose substantial fines on its violators (up to 20 million euros or 4% of your annual turnover).

This text, in addition to the unequivocal decision of the Mobile Marketing Association France in 2014, firmly condemns this practice and gives new powers to telecom operators, and henceforth enables the authorities to punish the providers and users concerned. One goal: to protect the secrecy of the communications and information entrusted to you.

In addition, these providers use low-quality SMS routes that are not authorized by operators. These are known as "gray" routes. This technique consists in using other countries to send your SMS messages, instead of using national networks directly, which explains their lower cost...

Choosing a solution that respects your personal data

Many players in the SMS mobile communications market offer a low-cost SMS service. This is not the direction we have decided to take. smsmode© chose many years ago to stop offering this product, which did not meet its ethical/safety commitments or its performance requirements.

That's why our platform only offers SMS premium, with all the features you need to guarantee top-quality service.

Our solution provides only direct connections with operators, without intermediaries, without any compromise on the security of your shipments, while offering you some of the lowest rates on the market. All personal data entrusted to us is stored, encrypted in France and then deleted from our Next servers under strict archiving policies.

smsmode© supports over 10,000 active customers, including numerous companies in the healthcare and banking sectors. Our information security certifications (ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019) are proof of our commitment to managing "sensitive" data.

REPORT
Digital security at smsmode© ?
Discover our data protection and privacy measures designed with RGPD compliance in mind.
safety report smsmode

Conclusion

While the cost of a SMS mailing campaign may seem more attractive with a low-cost service, it's important not to let yourself be fooled by these various promises, at the risk of outlawing yourself and losing the trust of your customers. In reality, the promised savings are only short-term, and you'll see the quality of your shipments deteriorate dramatically.

As a long-standing player in the mobile messaging sector, we can only advise you to choose a tool that complies with current regulations.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

Need more info?
We look forward to hearing from you.

June 04, 2024 - 3 min read

Fake DLRs (DeLivery Receipts)

Image by Elsa Paparone
Elsa Paparone

Elsa Paparone

fake dlr

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Introduction

For some years now, the mobile messaging sector has been faced with a major challenge, posed by the increase in fake DLRs or false acknowledgements of receipt. These practices, often used for financial optimization purposes (by reducing the actual number of SMS sent, for example), are particularly difficult to detect and sometimes almost impossible to eradicate.

A typical example: out of a campaign of 10,000,000 SMS, only 9,900,000 SMS are actually sent, the rest being marked as received with the help of fake DLR, without ever having been sent. This manipulation lowers the purchase price.

These false acknowledgements are generated by two sources:

  • mobile network operators,
  • aggregators SMS.

At smsmode©, we do our utmost to provide our customers with a service that is both reliable and secure. Discover our solutions SMS implemented by our professional teams to effectively mitigate this risk.

STUDY
SMS trends and key performances under the microscope

Find out more about our major study based on 745 million mailings SMS.

SMS trends in 2024

What is a DLR fake?

Fake for fake, DLR for DeLivery Receipt. Fake DLR is a false delivery receipt claiming that your SMS has been delivered, when in fact the operator or aggregator has rejected the message. In other words, it's a deception about the delivery status of your SMS. This technique can be used as part of a marketing campaign by SMS to offer a lower price than the 100% direct route...

For the sender, the DeLivery Receipt represents a vital source of information on the status of the SMS he has sent. It is therefore crucial for us to ensure the reliability of our routes in order to offer you the most efficient service and the most transparent feedback possible on the status of your SMS.

What is the origin of this risk?

Some unscrupulous operators or aggregators, lured by the lure of profit and the idea of making a 100% profit on part of their shipment, don't hesitate to generate fake DLRs . Easy to set up, fake DLR represents a highly lucrative business for these players.

How are the fake DLR generated?

Sending and receiving a SMS message seems like child's play. However, before reaching its destination, the message passes through a number of intermediaries. The quality of each route SMS takes depends on a number of factors. 

Almost all SMS messages generate two DLRs : a delivery receipt and a delivery report. The delivery receipt indicates whether the message sent is accepted or rejected. The delivery report indicates whether the message was sent or failed, and the reasons for the failure.

These status changes from SMS are vital, especially when sending large campaigns. DLR also provides invaluable information on the route taken by your SMS, the time of delivery (timestamp), whether they are queued, and whether they have not yet arrived.

REPORT
Digital security at smsmode© ?
Discover our data protection and privacy measures designed with RGPD compliance in mind.
safety report smsmode

What impact do these fake DLRs have on our business?

For you?

False DLRs can disrupt your traffic. In fact, these fictitious acknowledgements of receipt seriously undermine the real performance of your SMS campaigns. It's impossible to gauge the quality and effectiveness of your mailings without them. Companies using SMS marketing services can receive false acknowledgements of receipt to artificially inflate their delivery and success rates, thus distorting performance reports.

The result is a loss of confidence on the part of companies in their mobile messaging service provider, as well as financial losses due to false performance reports and additional costs to verify the authenticity of acknowledgements of receipt, and pressure on the official sales prices of A2P routes.

For us as a solution provider SMS ?

You simply lose confidence in our services SMS ! This is unthinkable for a company that wants to build a relationship with its customers based on reliability. That's why we take these issues very seriously, and want to reassure you about the quality of the solutions we provide.

The solutions proposed by smsmode© to fight against fake DLR

Our team of professionals has set up a solution to verify the performance of SMS shipments worldwide. The aim is to use monitoring tools to measure and evaluate the quality of our French and international shipments.

Set up:

Conclusion

Fake DeLivery Receipts represent a significant challenge to mobile messaging, affecting the reliability and integrity of communications. Vigilance, collaboration with reliable suppliers, and the implementation of rigorous controls are essential to counter this threat.

Our team advises you

Interested in our services? Our sales and technical teams are at your disposal to answer any questions you may have about our solutions SMS and to advise you on setting up your SMS campaign.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

May 15, 2024 - 3 min read

The SMS delivery rate: improving deliverability

Image author

Romain Didelot

Delivery rates SMS

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Introduction

The SMS delivery rate is a key key performance indicator which measures the percentage of SMS sent that are actually received by recipients. It is an essential criterion for evaluating the effectiveness of a SMS campaign, as it reflects the quality of your database and SMS routing. The importance of the delivery rate is undeniable: SMS is favored for its speed and deliverability, but to take advantage of this, you need to ensure that the SMS sent reach their target. Discover the factors that influence the SMS delivery rate, the delivery rate you can expect, and best practices for improving it.

How deliverable is SMS ?

Defining the delivery rate SMS

The SMS delivery rate is the percentage of SMS sent that are actually received by recipients. (SMS received/ SMS sent X 100)

The delivery rate of a campaign SMS is generally very high, as SMS is a direct, fast and reliable communication channel. According to a study by YoomWeb, the average SMS delivery rate is 98%, which means that almost all SMS sent reach their destination. However, certain criteria can have an impact on the deliverability of SMS , such as the quality of the contact database and message content. So what delivery rate can we expect? And how does it compare with other communication channels?

Comparison of delivery rates with other communication channels

The deliverability of SMS is far superior to that of other communication channels, such as email or social networks. For example, the average email delivery rate is 85%, while the organic reach of Facebook publications is 5.5%. SMS offers an undeniable competitive advantage when it comes to effectively reaching your target audience.

GOING FURTHER
SMS or email? The ultimate comparison
Comparison SMS vs Mail

The delivery rate at smsmode©

To improve the delivery rate SMS, you need to use a trusted SMS service provider with a reliable technical infrastructure, optimal network coverage, compliance with legal standards and responsive customer service.

smsmodeis connected directly to telecom operators. Beyond the fact that this connection enables us to benefit from better rates and greater security, it also means that, once we've sent a SMS to an operator, it's their responsibility to deliver it. Of course, actual deliverability depends on a number of factors:

We ensure the delivery of 100% of SMS to functional numbers to the operators responsible for delivery. While we cannot guarantee a fixed delivery rate due to the factors mentioned, we do ensure that every SMS with a functional number is delivered to the relevant operator holding the number.

By way of information, our customers who send critical and solicited SMS very often have reception rates in excess of 99%.

The platform smsmode© poster the rate of successfully delivered messages (as well as quantities), but also the various possible errors for undelivered messages. There are different types of error reported by operators. Whether permanent or temporary, they are all reported via a DLR (Delivery Receipt) that you receive via API and on your customer area. This information is used to optimize routing and the quality of the telephone numbers in your database.

Factors influencing the delivery rate SMS

The SMS delivery rate depends on several factors, which can be grouped into two categories: database quality and message content.

Database quality

The quality of the database is primordial to ensure good delivery rate SMS. Telephone numbers erroneous, obsolete Yes inactive will not be able to receive SMS. It is therefore important to check regularly the validity of telephone numbers delete duplicatesto respect unsubscriptions and segment contacts according to their preferences and behaviors. A qualified database enables you to reduce shipping costs, d'increase delivery rates SMS and customer loyalty. At smsmode©The system automatically deletes duplicates and manages unsubscribes.

Message content

Message content is also a key factor in optimizing delivery rates SMS. Telecom operators may block or filter certain messages depending on their content, particularly if they are considered spam. It is therefore important to follow the rules for writing a professional SMS and avoid words or expressions that could be considered spam. Among the elements considered to be SPAM are the abuse of capital letters and special characters, aggressive commercial terms, suspicious links and keywords linked to banks, government agencies or paid platforms (if the sender is not listed as such).

In short, write messages that are clear, concise, personalized and motivating. This will boost your deliverability and reinforce your brand image. You'll not only arouse customer interest, but also boost the open and conversion rates of SMS.

Personalizing SMS messages (name, city, etc.) can considerably increase impact. Don't hesitate to include links to your website, social networks or video content to enrich your message.

Find inspiration at SMS .

smsmode© gives you a few tips to get you started, with the right example for each SMS category.

examples sms

How to improve the deliverability of SMS

Use a trusted SMS service provider

Your SMS service provider is responsible for the delivery of SMS. So you need to be sure of your supplier's quality of service and compliance. Ask about the routes used, and make sure the price is consistent. Neither too high (which could mean that the provider is outsourcing SMS) nor too low (which could mean that the provider is using SIM cards and has no carrier connection). A trusted SMS service provider ensures quality routing, fast delivery and real-time tracking of shipments.

Database cleanup

Database cleanup is an essential step in improving the delivery rate SMS. All Base phone numbers must be valid, up-to-date and active. Respect recipients' consent, by offering them an easy unsubscribe option and deleting unsubscribed numbers. Regular database cleansing reduces mailing costs, avoids delivery errors and optimizes the quality of your mailings. the ROI of SMS. With smsmode©duplicate numbers are automatically deleted, as are those that return a SMS STOP message.

Optimize mailing costs SMS with an opt-in and active base

smsmode© gives you the keys to starting your SMS campaigns on the right foot and keeping your database active over time.

An impactful message

As explained above, make sure your message is clear, concise and personalized. Avoid words or expressions that could be considered spam by operators or recipients. What's more, a well-written message has an impact on other indicators such as brand image, loyalty, open rate and conversion rate.

GOING FURTHER
Discover the 10 keys to effective, profitable SMS campaigns.
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

Conclusion

The SMS delivery rate is the first performance indicator to monitor when evaluating the effectiveness of an SMS campaign. It's therefore important to know it and compare it to other communication channels, as well as between different SMS platforms. Maximize your deliverability with Next best practices to generate a high return on investment, a high open rate, a significant click-through rate and an optimal conversion rate.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

Need more info?
We look forward to hearing from you.
May 05, 2024 - 3 min read

Personalize the sender of your SMS (Sender ID)

Image by Elsa Paparone
Elsa Paparone

Elsa Paparone

Sender Id SMS

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Introduction

Known as the Sender ID or OADC (Originator Address Code), the sender of a SMS is the name or, failing that, the telephone number that appears on your mobile when you receive a message. In the SMS business world, it can take different forms: a long number, a short 5-digit number, or a personalized number with the name of a company in alphanumeric characters.

Setting up the sender when sending professional message campaigns is important for several reasons. This feature, only available in SMS A2P (Application To Person) communication , is possible for operators with a direct connection (such as smsmode© 😎).

However, many users of the smsmode© platform forget this step and thus reduce the KPIs SMS such as the open rate of their messages, even though this function is totally free of charge via our service.

INFORMATION

If you plan to send notification-type messages, please contact our teams directly so that we can set up your account and remove the STOP SMS restriction with a personalized sender.

What are the advantages of personalizing the sender when sending your SMS campaign?

1- The personalized sender allows you to identify yourself to all your recipients, whether prospects or customers. When SMS is received, your company's name will appear directly in the header of the content displayed on your contacts' phones.

2- If you leave the sender ID unchanged, a generic 5-digit short code will automatically be assigned to your message. By personalizing the sender ID, you save some of the 160 characters of SMS and gain in brand image with your prospects or customers. Real added value compared with an impersonal short code.

3- Being quickly identified by the communication's recipient can increase the open rate of your campaigns by more than 30%. marketing campaigns. SMS.

4- You can create as many sender IDs as you like for your company, on your account, at no extra cost. This feature is free on our mobile messaging platform.

GOING FURTHER
SMS or email us. Can't decide?
The ultimate comparison (to make the right choice)
Comparison SMS vs Mail

Any tips for establishing your transmitter?

Would you like to customize the Sender ID of your SMS but don't know how? Don't worry, these tips will guide you step by step.

Tip no. 1

Your sender name should directly reflect your company or business. When they receive your message, customers/prospects should be able to identify you within the first 2 seconds.

Tip no. 2

Your customized transmitter name must be between 3 and 11 characters long. This number is defined by telecom operators (carriers and GSMA).

Tip no. 3

The Sender ID does not have to be a number only. Our mobile service providers overwrite personalized senders with this element only, to prevent any attempt at fraud and identity theft with a number that does not belong to the sender of the message.

Tip no. 4

Special characters are not taken into account by telecom companies and cancel any transmitter personalization.

Tip no. 5

Avoid spaces when choosing your sender ID. They are not accepted by all operators. Some of your senders will be replaced by a short code number.

Tip no. 6

If you're running marketing/advertising campaigns, make sure that your message ends with the word " STOP", so that your recipients/customers can unsubscribe. If you don't include the word "STOP" in your content, telecom service providers will automatically overwrite it to include a short number.

GOING FURTHER
Find out more about SMS and how to get the most out of your products.
10 best practices for SMS campaigns

Some cases where OADC cannot be customized

In some situations, it is not possible to change the sender of a message. This may be due to technical restrictions imposed by telecom service providers, or to the wishes of users.

As mentioned above, it is not possible to change the sender without the "STOP" mention at the end of the message for any marketing-type use. The Sender ID will be overwritten and replaced by a short number on which contacts can directly unsubscribe from your mailing list.

When you decide to send and receive text messages via long number rental, it is technically impossible to replace the long number with a personalized sender. Only your personally assigned sender can appear at the top of the message.

If you wish to receive replies or confirmations to your solicitations, you must not modulate the OADC. In fact, it's impossible for operators to trace a response to a message with personalization. You'll have to choose the basic 5-digit generic sender (short code, e.g. 36034) or rent a long send/receive number to contact your customers.

Create your free account

Try out our SMS platform and benefit from 20 free test credits, with no obligation.

Need more info?
We look forward to hearing from you.

THE smsmode© blog ©

The New Mobile Messaging Channels 2021, the infographic

7 December 2021

Mobile messaging is constantly changing. Many new channels have appeared recently: RCS, TTS, WhatsApp Business, VMS, push notifications... This multiplication of ways to reach customers is obviously an opportunity, but each channel has its own characteristics and advantages. It is therefore advisable to know these channels to exploit their potential to the full.

Continue reading " Infographic: The New Mobile Messaging Channels 2021 "

smsmode© documentation

The blog : smsmode©

Trends SMS A2P in 2021

Computer graphics

Every French person receives an average of 10 SMS A2P (Application To Person) messages a month. These messages sent by companies to their customers are a key element in strategies to digitalize customer relations. The health crisis has accelerated the digital shift in companies. How has the use of SMS communication been impacted? To answer this question, our services analyzed more than 170 million SMS messages sent via our mobile messaging routing platform between January 1 and December 31.er September 2020 and January 31, 2021.

Here is our latest study on the use of SMS A2P by companies in 2021. 

See also the infographic below, summarising the main points of our study.

The full study is available here: https: //www.smsmode.com/barometre-2021-sms -a2p/

Continue reading " SMS A2P trends for 2021 "

Triple your conversion rate with ultra-targeted RCS campaigns

El potencial de interacción es la principal ventaja de RCS — Rich Communication Service —, el sucesor de los SMS. Fue esta promesa la que atrajo a Panda Tea, una marca comprometida de tés e infusiones para el bienestar, y la convenció para lanzar su primera campaña RCS en colaboración con smsmode©.

18 495

RCS SENT

10%

RCS COMPATIBLE CONTACTS

16,26%

CLICK TO BUY

ABOUT
Panda Tea is a brand of wellness teas and infusions that develops premium organic blends. Launched in 2017, by 3 brothers, Panda Tea has a community of 300,000 tea lovers. 30 million cups of tea have already been served.

SECTOR OF ACTIVITY

E-commerce

COMPANY SIZE

10 employees

CREATION DATE

2017

LOCATION

France

CHANNELS - RCS
INTEGRATION - Google Dialogflow bot
USE CASES - marketing campaign

Download the Panda Tea success story

You may also, for legitimate reasons, object to the processing of your personal data. If you wish to exercise these rights, please send an e-mail to dpo(at)smsmode.com.

use RCS as a new drive for advertising campaigns

A drive-to-web campaign

As a strong supporter of mobile marketing, Panda Tea regularly runs advertising campaigns during the year highlights such as sales, Black Friday, Christmas, etc.

Panda Tea wanted to launch an RCS campaign in partnership with smsmode©. The goal was to explore the possibilities of RCS and to bring a new dynamic tto the brand’s communication.
The campaign is focused on highlighting the end-of-year products (teas, boxes, infusions, etc.), with buttons and a carousel (image and description of products following the link).

Our main objective is to generate traffic to our website and the RCS is a promising and appropriate channel that allowed us to use images, buttons and carousels in our campaign, which SMS does not allow.

RCS drive-to-web campaign RCS drive-to-web campaign RCS drive-to-web campaign RCS drive-to-web campaign` RCS-Kampagne von drive-to-web

RESULTS OF THE PANDA TEA RCS CAMPAIGN

92,78%

READING RATE

7,23%

CLICK-THROUGH RATE

16,26%

CONVERSION RATE

1,2%

UNSUBSCRIBE RATE

benefits from the RCS marketing power

The remarkable performance of the new channel

The campaign was sent to RCS-enabled mobile phone numbers from the contact base used for the SMS advertising campaigns. More than 18.000 Panda Tea customers benefited from a dynamic, simple and direct interaction through this new enhanced mobile experience.

The statistics and link tracking features have made it possible to monitor and analyse the results of the RCS in real time. And the results are remarkable!
92.78% of the RCS were read, 75% of which were read within an hour of being sent, rivalling the already exceptional performance of SMS.

And the other performances are not to be outdone: with a click-through rate of 7.23%, a conversion rate of 16.26% — 3 times higher than the SMS campaigns usually carried out by the brand— and an unsubscription rate of 1.2%, the RCS proves its effectiveness.

The results of this campaign corroborated our forecasts: this new mobile messaging channel is clearly positioned as a “drive to Web” tool for e-commerce which, moreover, has a direct impact on sales.

imagining new uses for e-commerce

RCS, a marketing channel of the future

Panda Tea is one of the first French brands to implement communication via RCS.
The first lessons for the use of this brand new technology in the e-commerce sector are emerging:

The RCS is proving to be suitable for our business sector e-commerce. This first campaign showed a direct impact on drive-to-web. We now want to launch an RCS campaign based on a conversational scenario: it would be a perfect medium to introduce a new product or a new product range.

smsmode© documentation

The blog : smsmode©

RCS now available for businesses
The infographic

RCS - Rich Communications Services - the new generation of SMS and mobile messaging, is currently being deployed worldwide and in France. The advantages of RCS for brands are numerous: enriched, interactive media content, with results far superior to those seen with SMS campaigns.

Discover with our infographic this new mobile messaging channel that will revolutionize your future... and the mobile communication of companies! Continue reading " Infographic "RCS now available for businesses" "

smsmode© documentation

The blog : smsmode©

SMS and Black Friday
2020 trends

What place does Black Friday occupy in the marketing events of the year? How important is it to brands? What dynamics do they perceive? And above all, what impact has COVID-19 had on the marketing strategies they are considering?

A look back with this infographic illustrating the responses to our survey on an event that has become a must-attend over the years, and which this year takes on a special flavor for the brands - retailers and e-retailers - we surveyed at the end of October / beginning of November. Continue reading " Infography " SMS & Black Friday" "

smsmode© documentation

The blog : smsmode©

2020 survey SMS A2P

INFOGRAPHY
2020 trends in SMS A2P

To produce this infographic on 2020 trends in SMS A2P, we analyzed over 83 million SMS distributed by 1299 brands and companies via its solution over the period from October 15, 2019 to January 14, 2020. The results of this study highlight the trends in SMS A2P, in other words, the use of SMS by brands and companies in 2020.

Key finding: SMS notification is set to dethrone SMS advertising...

Continue reading " Infographic "2020 trends in A2P SMS " "